Fevers and Mirrors

Saddle Creek
Release date
30 May 2000
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 A Spindle, a Darkness, a Fever, and a Necklace 6:26 85,149
2 A Scale, a Mirror and Those Indifferent Clocks 2:44 41,677
3 The Calendar Hung Itself 3:55 87,315
4 Something Vague 3:32 150,835
5 The Movement of a Hand 4:01 104,430
6 Arienette 3:44 110,387
7 When the Curious Girl Realizes She Is Under Glass 2:39 98,435
8 Haligh, Haligh, A Lie, Haligh 4:42 163,581
9 The Center of the World 4:42 104,128
10 Sunrise, Sunset 4:31 137,404
11 An Attempt to Tip the Scales 8:27 84,251
12 A Song to Pass the Time 5:29 98,717

About this album

Fevers and Mirrors is the third album by the Nebraskan indie folk band Bright Eyes, recorded in 1999 and released on May 29, 2000. It was the 32nd release of the Omaha, Nebraska-based record label Saddle Creek Records.

The album begins with a recording of a little boy reading Mitchell Is Moving, a book by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat. “An Attempt to Tip the Scales” includes what is ostensibly an interview with the band’s frontman, Conor Oberst. However, Oberst has admitted that the interview was something of a joke, intended to poke fun at the dark tone of the album. Conor’s voice is impersonated in the interview by Todd Fink of The Faint and Commander Venus. The man interviewing is Matt Silcock, a former member of Lullaby for the Working Class.

This album was included in Bright Eyes’ Vinyl Box Set. The LP is currently out of print.


Pitchfork Media (5.4/10)
NME (7/10)
Allmusic 4.5/5 stars

The music online magazine Pitchfork Media placed Fevers and Mirrors at number 170 on their list of top 200 albums of the 2000s.
Track listing

1. “A Spindle, a Darkness, a Fever, and a Necklace” – 6:28
* Conor Oberst - Guitar, Vocals, Sample
* Mike Mogis - Vibraphone, Glockenspiel, Piano
* Tim Kasher - Accordion
2. “A Scale, a Mirror and Those Indifferent Clocks” – 2:44
* Conor Oberst - Organs, Vocals
* Mike Mogis - E Bow Pedal Steel, Electronics
* Jiha Lee - Flute
* Andy LeMaster - Bass
* A.J. Mogis - Piano
* Clint Schnase - Drum Set
3. “The Calendar Hung Itself…” – 3:55

Other releases

Listening Trend

259,869listeners all time
4,256,746scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners