Somewhere Far Beyond

Virgin Germany
Release date
3 Mar 2003
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Time What Is Time 5:46 80,629
2 Journey Through The Dark 4:48 80,737
3 Black Chamber. 0:58 2,796
4 Theatre Of Pain. 4:17 2,939
5 The Quest For Tanelorn 5:55 68,650
6 Ashes to Ashes 6:01 68,105
7 The Bard's Song - In the Forest 3:10 75,397
8 The Bard's Song - The Hobbit 3:54 50,837
9 The Piper's Calling (Traditional) 0:58 2,239
10 Somewhere Far Beyond 7:31 66,373
11 Spread Your Wings 4:16 73,427
12 Trial By Fire 3:45 44,617
13 Theatre Of Pain (Classic Version) 4:15 23,634

About this album

Somewhere Far Beyond is the fourth studio-album by German Power/Speed-Metal act Blind Guardian. It was released in 1992 and produced by Kalle Trapp. The cover artwork was created by Andreas Marschall, who has also drawn the artwork for some more of Blind Guardian’s releases (Tales From The Twilight World, Nightfall in Middle-Earth, etc.). The album saw the band creating its own original sound, while still employing most of their speed/power metal techniques. The strong songwriting of the album (including fan favorite The Bard’s Song) made the album a power metal staple. The image of the cover and the two Bard’s Songs gave the band its nickname “The Bards”. The use of the nickname has been also extended to the fans of the group, Circle of the Bards being the now defunct fan club and Hansi frequently calling the fans Bards.

The album was acclaimed by power metal fans all across Europe and especially Japan, allowing them to tour for the first time outside Germany. The tour in the Far East led to the first live album of the band, Tokyo Tales.

Remastered and re-released on 15 June 2007, with bonus tracks.

Track listing:
1. “Time What Is Time” – 5:42
2. “Journey Through the Dark” – 4:45
3. “Black Chamber” – 0:56
4. “Theatre of Pain” – 4:15
5. “The Quest for Tanelorn” – 5:53
6. “Ashes to Ashes” – 5:58
7. “The Bard’s Song (In the Forest)” – 3:09
8. “The Bard’s Song (The Hobbit)” – 3:52
9. “The Piper’s Calling” – 0:58
10. “Somewhere Far Beyond” – 7:28

Bonus Tracks:
11. “Spread Your Wings” (Queen cover) – 4:13

Other releases

Listening Trend

107,203listeners all time
2,844,122scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners