Tin Machine

Release date
3 Mar 2003
Running length
14 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Heaven's In Here (1999 Digital Remaster) 6:03 315
2 Tin Machine (1999 Digital Remaster) 3:36 4,168
3 Prisoner Of Love (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:49 229
4 Crack City (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:34 198
5 I Can't Read (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:53 1,793
6 Under The God (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:06 1,538
7 Amazing (1999 Digital Remaster) 3:03 1,655
8 Working Class Hero (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:40 4,168
9 Bus Stop (1999 Digital Remaster) 1:41 239
10 Pretty Thing (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:37 135
11 Video Crimes (1999 Digital Remaster) 3:52 109
12 Run (1999 Digital Remaster) 3:19 115
13 Sacrifice Yourself (1999 Digital Remaster) 2:10 1,112
14 Baby Can Dance (1999 Digital Remaster) 4:57 859

About this album

Tin Machine is the debut album of Tin Machine originally released by EMI in 1989.

The group was the latest venture of David Bowie, inspired by sessions with guitarist Reeves Gabrels. Drummer Hunt Sales and bassist Tony Sales formed the rest of the band, with “fifth member” Kevin Armstrong providing rhythm guitar.

The project was intended as a back-to-basics album by Bowie, with a hard rock sound and simple production, as opposed to his past two solo albums. Unlike previous Bowie bands (such as SPIDERS FROM MARS), Tin Machine acted as a democratic unit.

A remarkable recording for many reasons, the debut of Tin Machine predates by nearly half a decade much of the guitar-oriented alternative pop that followed the grunge explosion of 1991-1992.
This does not sound like Bowie in a band; missing are the quirkiness and theatrics that characterize much of Bowie‘s solo work. This is a band with a band attitude, not exactly what the fans were wanting at the time. Stunt guitarist Reeves Gabrels provides much in the way of ambient guitar solos, not unlike Adrian Belew‘s work.
Drummer Hunt Sales provides a sticky tenor vocal similar to Bowie‘s own voice in a higher register; they blend very well together. The music is hard-edged guitar rock with an intelligence missing from much of the work of that genre at the time. Highlights include the emotional “Prisoner of Love” and the driving “Under the God.” The band does a rocking rework of John Lennon‘s “Working Class Hero,” with a killer machine-gun fire-sounding riff that permeated the track.

Other releases

Listening Trend

50,094listeners all time
290,480scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

Top Listeners