Concord Records
Release date
25 Sep 2007
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 One Week Last Summer 4:58 21,037
2 This Place 3:54 18,963
3 If I Had a Heart 4:03 17,551
4 Hana 3:43 15,178
5 Bad Dreams 5:40 15,133
6 Big Yellow Taxi (2007) 2:46 13,672
7 Night of the Iguana 4:37 15,512
8 Strong and Wrong 4:02 13,481
9 Shine 7:28 13,845
10 If 5:32 13,861

About this album

Shine is the nineteenth studio album by Canadian singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell and was released on September 25, 2007 by Starbucks’ Hear Music.[1] It was the singer-songwriter’s first album of new songs in nine years, after 1998’s Taming the Tiger.

Joni Mitchell, who said she was retiring from music several years ago, signed a two-album contract with Starbucks’ Hear Music that began with the release of Shine. The 10-track CD “feels like the return of Joni the storyteller,” said Ken Lombard, the president of Starbucks Entertainment who also oversees Hear Music.

In the United States, the album sold about 40,000 copies in its first week, debuting at number 14 on the Billboard 200 chart;[2] this was Mitchell’s best peak position in America since 1976’s Hejira. Shine also peaked at #36 in the UK charts, making it Mitchell’s first Top 40 album in the UK since 1991. In its first week on sale, Shine sold around 60,000 copies worldwide and as of December, 2007, it has sold over 170,000 copies in the U.S.A.[3]

Other releases

Listening Trend

54,773listeners all time
341,586scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • tomeksj1

    Incredibly beautiful.

    3 Jan 2014 Reply
  • SaltyMcSushi

    billiant. gorgeous. lush. damn orchestras.

    10 Dec 2012 Reply
  • crimsonking93

    i really really wish she'd used a real orchestra instead of those synthetic sounds. [3]

    10 Jun 2011 Reply
  • pjfrankophone

    i really really wish she'd used a real orchestra instead of those synthetic sounds. [2]

    28 Jan 2010 Reply
  • rainy-dog

    i really really wish she'd used a real orchestra instead of those synthetic sounds.

    28 Apr 2009 Reply
  • StAugustine50

    brilliant album. just getting into joni's strides.

    28 Mar 2009 Reply
  • darekjapan old, blond love.....

    19 Feb 2009 Reply
  • godwand

    that was one useless rant...

    10 Dec 2008 Reply
  • godwand

    my first time listening to it, and I fucking love it. Joni Mitchell is seriously one of the greatest artists of her lifetime.

    6 Dec 2008 Reply
  • martiperramon


    18 Oct 2008 Reply
  • jeffreywu

    joni totally rules. it always takes me months to get the big picture of her music before i get addicted to the new songs.

    10 Oct 2008 Reply
  • HiFiMonster

    That blue strip on the cover should be taken out, it ruins the beautiful and poetic image underneath.

    26 Jun 2008 Reply
  • Confessions87

    One sign of a really great artist is when their material takes a while to grow on you. I didn't reckon much to this album at first last September. It's taken the best part of nine months to really grow on me. I love it now, it's such a beautiful record. And it's satisfying to say that I adore yet ANOTHER Joni Mitchell album. She really is a beautiful human being in heart and mind.

    9 Apr 2008 Reply
  • Gazoline

    wow this is really good.

    1 Mar 2008 Reply
  • Confessions87

    Yay! Finally up! And they didn't cock up the track-list, either.

    26 Dec 2007 Reply

Top Listeners