Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Linda Perhacs


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Mill Valley, California, United States

Linda Perhacs is an American singer-songwriter, who released her only album “Parallelograms” in 1970 to scant notice or sales. The album was rediscovered by record enthusiasts and grew in popularity with the rise of the New Weird America movement and the Internet. It was reissued on CD and 2-LP in 2005, and again in 2008.

Native of Mill Valley, California, United States, Linda Perhacs spent many years away from the music industry (mostly spent as dental technician). Her songs have been featured in soundtracks to many films, most recently and notably in “Daft Punk’s Electroma”. Perhacs also sang backing vocals on “Freely” from Devendra Banhart’s “Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon” and features in Prefuse 73’s track “Rain Edit Interlude” from the album “Surrounded by Silence”.

She is currently completing work on a new album with co-producers Fernando Perdomo and Chris Price. Other collaborators on the album include Julia Holter and Ramona Gonzalez of Nite Jewel.

Official site:


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

59,929listeners all time
704,485scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Walenta

    Heavypop Review:

    16 Apr 5:47pm Reply
  • nagchomper


    27 Mar 1:15am Reply
  • RainyWoods

    @caffeineandvase I respect your opinion but I certainly wouldn't call Linda's sophomore boring. I personally haven't been this enthralled by a record since Soap&Skin's "Narrow" in 2012. I'm getting totally lost in the world this music creates around me. I feel this is a remarkable return. Linda Perhacs is the most warmhearted, free spirit. I love the thought of all these artists and musicians who looked up to Linda, coming together to help in the creation of this very special record. I just can't stop myself from listening to it... and "Freely" has suddenly become a stand out track for me. This live performance is beyond wonderful

    23 Mar 3:26pm Reply
  • caffeineandvase

    such a boring record.

    22 Mar 7:08pm Reply
  • gluerme

    some1 pls send me track 10

    17 Mar 8:40pm Reply
  • gabystarlight


    12 Mar 8:46pm Reply
  • RainyWoods

    I think Linda Perhacs comeback is quite magnificent and that "The Soul of All Natural Things" is one of the most enjoyable albums i've heard in quite a while. It's quite extraordinary to think that her sophomore album is here after over forty years. Linda is as playful as ever. I think it's wonderful how she put her foot down on a couple of the tracks that her record company wanted more.. organic I suppose? "Intensity" happens to be one of my favourite songs although it feels too short (despite being the albums longest track), by the end of it i'm craving another round of the "In this Intensity" section but it never comes. "When Things Are True Again" is utterly mesmerising. It's euphoric and makes the hairs on my arms stand on end. "Daybreak" and "Children" are really the only songs i'm not fussed about. They Seem a bit pedestrian in comparison to what else is on offer here. Overall it's a brilliant album and I just can't stop listening to it. I'm excited for what will come next.

    11 Mar 8:58pm Reply
  • sunheadbowed

    River of God reminds me of Famous Blue Raincoat, bizarrely.

    11 Mar 7:48am Reply
  • sunheadbowed

    I don't find it all that similar to Parallelograms. It sounds like the same artist made both albums, which is a relief, but it doesn't sound like Parallelograms, Part II to my ears. It was never going to be as good as Parallelograms anyway, but just the fact that she released new music at long last and that it's good should be enough for most.

    11 Mar 7:47am Reply
  • b52ohlol

    i'm not saying it's bad. it stirred something in me and that's all i should ask for. maybe i'm just disarmed by my own inability to sometimes listen to music for what it is and not in relation to other expectations or feelings.

    9 Mar 6:31pm Reply
  • b52ohlol

    i'm conflicted, to be honest. the new album sounds so much like Parallelograms that you can feel it dragging it down from its pedestal of inimitable purity. and not in a way that betters it, since i don't think there's anything on this album i would choose to listen to over anything on Parallelograms. i've never felt like this with new material before, let alone from someone who i consider to be so warm and true in soul and spirit. linda seems to surround herself with musicians who adore her - i wonder how many of them were involved in the process and chose to hold back any criticism because they were witnessing a similar creative journey that led to parallelograms and just wanted to bask in that light. it's all the same lyrical imagery (that was once uniquely observant) without the perfect balance of tenacity and fragility. the production and instrumentation might be the one thing setting it apart for me right now - here we find the beauty. well, first listen blues.... anyone???

    9 Mar 6:23pm Reply
  • lillekorn

    "River of God" reminds me of Swandives "Being in two Places at the Same Time"

    8 Mar 5:56pm Reply
  • bopapocalypse

    the new record is everything i was hoping for & more. so so beautiful.

    7 Mar 2:20pm Reply
  • johannez1

    Really looking forward to listening to the whole of the new album. So far the title track has been everything I expected of her and more.

    4 Mar 10:31pm Reply
  • NM_chillandill

    this is incredible

    1 Mar 7:50am Reply
  • dramatist

    so glad she made another record. it's marvelous

    28 Feb 8:19am Reply
  • blebbio

    wow new album is incredible. few artists are able to pull off a comeback like this.

    25 Feb 12:12am Reply
  • PhoenixBloom

    Freely is a dream!!! 0.0

    13 Feb 12:44am Reply
  • melez102

    holy shit linda is alive in 2014

    19 Jan 3:54pm Reply
  • perringwendal

    Linda's new album is approaching: new track taken from it, "River of God" >>

    17 Jan 7:58am Reply
  • All 150 shouts