Skip to
YouTube video

Loading player…

Related Tags

The Milk-Eyed Mender is the debut album by American singer-songwriter Joanna Newsom, released on March 23 2004 on the Drag City label.

Joanna Newsom wrote all the songs on the album except for "Three Little Babes", a traditional Appalachian song. According to the liner notes, Joanna plays "a Lyon & Healy style 15 harp, a wurlitzer electric piano, a harpsichord, and piano."

A bandmate in San Francisco band The Pleased, Noah Georgeson, produced and recorded the album, as well… read more



Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

  • Avatar for VilleKoistinen
    I like a simplicity of this album a lot. Really beautiful.
  • Avatar for ppgirls
    1 Bridges and Balloons 2 Sprout and the Bean 3 The Book of Right-On 4 Inflammatory Writ 5 Sadie 6 Cassiopeia 7 En Gallop 8 This Side of the Blue 9 Peach, Plum, Pear 10 Swansea 11 Three Little Babes 12 Clam, Crab, Cockle, Cowrie
  • Avatar for paganinies
    happy 10th birthday, mender! the right-on album...
  • Avatar for SillyKateFace
    I wish she could've made just one more album like this. The music's so unique and her voice is so damn cute. I like her more classic style, but not nearly as much. Sigh... <3
  • Avatar for Tron1276
    Still/always pretty much stunning.
  • Avatar for ElectroPeter
    her voice is very similar to the very first studio album of Björk
  • Avatar for traytray89
    There's a certain youthful vigor and playfulness about this album that you don't find as much on her later stuff. It's so easily overlooked in the shadow of behemoths like Ys and Have One On Me, but undoubtedly among her best songwriting.
  • Avatar for lecadeau
    I adore this album.
  • Avatar for Overbest
    Her best work. Ever. So pure, so youth and innocent... Surrealistic melodies and writing skills.
  • Avatar for Pseudo-Bread
    One of my best finds from a charity shop, no idea why someone would want to get rid of though. Her voice is so powerful, I love it.

API Calls