Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Sweden (1993 – present)

HammerFall is a heavy/power metal band from Sweden, formed in 1993 by Oscar Dronjak and Jesper Strömblad, then members of Ceremonial Oath.

Dronjak had already composed some of the new band’s music, including the song “Steel Meets Steel”. Several of the band’s early lineups featured members of other influential Swedish heavy metal bands, such as In Flames and Dark Tranquillity. The members intended to take part in a competition known as “Rockslaget”.

In 1996, HammerFall reached the semi-finals of the competition, but needed to find a new vocalist as their existing one would be unavailable for the competition. He was replaced by Joacim Cans, who became a full-time member of the band. Despite not winning the competition, HammerFall’s live demo earned them a contract with Vic Records, which resulted in the release of their debut album “Glory to the Brave”. The band was also licensed to Nuclear Blast of Germany for a four-album deal. At this point, the decision was taken that HammerFall was a full-time project, which meant that the In Flames members opted to focus on their melodic death metal band.

“Glory to the Brave” proved a considerable success for the band, paving the way for later successes. This critical and commercial success was further underscored by the success of a tour of Germany, Switzerland and the Netherlands, in which the band played to full houses. This pattern would be followed on later tours with other power metal bands.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

486,969listeners all time
22,358,189scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • timothybarnes

    That was unexpected; the new album is good.

    Yesterday 2:07am Reply
  • neoxx07

    Very good album, was afraid of listening something new from hammerfall but this is definitly and improvement indeed

    Yesterday 3:07pm Reply
  • Pedrogrief

    Evil Incarnate...

    30 Aug 11:39pm Reply
  • OG-Gurda


    29 Aug 6:47pm Reply
  • alchemist_os

    Hector's Hymn sounds like earlier stuff, thus is an improvement.

    29 Aug 3:08pm Reply
  • Asamael

    Listened once now... Not really impressed, although I somehow had some expectations despite their last great album was Crimson Thunder. Overall sound is indeed pretty nice, but this kind of music is all about catchy choruses for me, and I couldn't find them.

    29 Aug 9:40am Reply
  • Glauco_Silva

    (r)Evolution is not bad at all... I quit them for becoming a snorefest (like Blind Guardian) many years ago, guess it's time to pay attention to HF again. Not their most brilliant work I think, but it's catchy.

    29 Aug 7:43am Reply
  • Pedrogrief

    Hector's Hymn, Bushido...

    27 Aug 10:31pm Reply
  • Morwennol

    I'd give Hector's Hymn 3/5 stars, it's definitely better than some of their filler stuff from earlier albums but the chorus is too cliched and/or predictable. Good solos and overall sound though.

    26 Aug 3:28pm Reply
  • matheusmicci

    Hector's Hymn is so addictive, the chorus got stuck in my mind @_@ HAMMER HIGH!

    26 Aug 2:04am Reply
  • flori_hedig

    German review for the new album online at "(r)Evolution" gets 7 out of 10!

    25 Aug 10:22pm Reply
  • Schander

    "HammerFall is back biatches !" Hahahahahahahahahaha, thanks for the laugh.

    25 Aug 5:43pm Reply
  • panda_polaco

    First listen of (r)Evolution... not really great, I hope I change my mind after a few more

    25 Aug 1:21am Reply
  • Muinaiset

    After two listens I'd say Origins is my favorite track so far. Great album.

    24 Aug 11:27pm Reply
  • Cayke_RPlus


    24 Aug 9:09pm Reply
  • MaidenTek

    A few tracks that don't really fit into (r)Evolution, but overall an AMAZING album! 9/10 !! HammerFall is back biatches !

    24 Aug 6:03pm Reply
  • metalkillthekin

    'Legacy Of Kings' great album!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 Aug 2:21am Reply
  • Sharp-Ton

    Dark Wings, Dark Words.

    28 Jul 10:07pm Reply
  • Karaouq16

    they have a new album coming out on august 29

    28 Jul 9:54pm Reply
  • metall87 NEW SONG!!!!!!!!

    28 Jul 8:26pm Reply
  • All 2472 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners