Common Dreads

Release date
16 Jun 2009
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Common Dreads 2:08 76,778
2 Solidarity 3:16 94,623
3 Step Up 4:40 78,206
4 Juggernauts 4:44 116,943
5 Wall 4:29 78,845
6 Zzzonked 3:27 81,763
7 Havoc A 1:40 81,931
8 No Sleep Tonight 4:17 90,427
9 Gap In The Fence 4:07 72,546
10 Havoc B 2:52 78,567
11 Antwerpen 3:15 70,180
12 The Jester 3:56 67,877
13 Halcyon 0:42 22,704
14 Hectic 3:17 68,621
15 Fanfare For The Conscious Man 3:45 54,329

About this album

Common Dreads is the second studio album by Enter Shikari released on June 15, 2009 and June 16 in the US. Recording of the album began in September 2008 and ended in late February 2009. The album was produced and mixed by Andy Gray at Arreton Manor. Guitar production was carried out by Dan Weller of WellerHill and the defunct band SikTh.

Common Dreads has polarised critics. Ultimate-Guitar rated the album with an overall rating of 9.3/10. Similarly, music magazines Kerrang! and Metal Hammer gave very positive reviews, Kerrang! rating the album 5/5. The album also has its critics. Digital Spy gave the album 3/5 calling it ‘hit and miss’. Pete Paphides of The Times gave the album 2 stars out of 5, describing it as “a titanically inadvisable mash-up between Gallows and John Craven’s Newsround.” Similarly, Lauren Murphy of described it as “an overkill of brawn, insufficient brain.”

There is a drastic lyrical change in the new album. The band formerly wrote lyrics concerning various different subjects and made frequent use of metaphors. In Common Dreads, the band’s lyrical subjects concern socio-political topics, like in “Step Up”, a song that critiques free world trade. The song “No Sleep Tonight” speaks about the ecological situation of today. The song “Fanfare for the Conscious Man” contains lyrical connotations to the injustice of the various wars the government were engaging in whilst Enter Shikari were writing the album, the line, “Our gracious queen should grasp her crown, and take a good fucking swing at Blair and Brown” confirms the anti-war views of this song.

Other releases

Listening Trend

179,753listeners all time
9,963,324scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • P337

    not a huge fan of TTTS personally, so I had originally written off Enter Shikari as "not for me." someone talked me into checking this album out, and my jaw dropped. one of my most listened to albums ever. *thumbs up*

    4 Apr 4:54pm Reply
  • MrZacarius

    SUCH a badass album.

    16 May 2013 Reply
  • Mr_Hmpft

    sptsr sephkdrph

    10 Feb 2013 Reply
  • moisiiri

    Hectic is the shizzz

    30 Jan 2013 Reply
  • NotCoreBased

    Меня хватило на 6 композиций. Скучно.

    13 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Nazarami

    This album was THE soundtrack to summer '09. [3] It was a great time.

    18 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Tobbyno

    Great album.

    16 Jul 2012 Reply
  • eoto88

    In my opinion it's their best album. I love all their releases but this one is the most emotional and strong. [ 2 ] I approve!

    25 Mar 2012 Reply
  • Fuhghettaboutit

    This album was THE soundtrack to summer '09. [2] Love it!

    13 Mar 2012 Reply
  • SilVER_28

    In my opinion it's their best album. I love all their releases but this one is the most emotional and strong.

    7 Mar 2012 Reply
  • Newborn_Bantam

    Great album, but Take to the Skies is THE classic Shikari album.

    3 Feb 2012 Reply
  • Emotopian

    Gonna get it soon, but I hope its at least as good (or even better than) TTTS. So far everyone says its better *high hopes*

    2 Oct 2011 Reply
  • daGrevis

    I wonder if they can create a better album than this one... [2]

    1 Oct 2011 Reply
  • TheCreatedVoid1

    I sincerely doubt it, talismanus, but time will tell.

    22 Sep 2011 Reply
  • Pingasforce

    Way better than TTTS.

    9 Aug 2011 Reply
  • talismanus

    I wonder if they can create a better album than this one...

    7 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Pat_picturesque

    A big improvement over TTTS. I hope their third album is as good as this. [4]

    27 Jun 2011 Reply
  • TheseTearsICry

    Step Up. is the shizzz (1)

    27 May 2011 Reply
  • parentalhater


    22 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Wii_phil

    LOVE IT, but i really hope theire new album is going to be a little bit rougher. Like a mix of the old an new stuff

    10 Mar 2011 Reply
  • All 187 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners