Broadway the Hard Way

Universal Music Group
Release date
18 Dec 2012
Running length
17 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Elvis Has Just Left The Building 2:25 6,687
2 Planet Of The Baritone Women 2:48 5,945
3 Any Kind Of Pain 5:43 5,450
4 Dickie's Such An Asshole 10:10 6,835
5 When The Lie's So Big 3:38 4,896
6 Rhymin' Man 3:50 4,792
7 Promiscuous 2:03 5,288
8 The Untouchables 2:26 4,654
9 Why Don't You Like Me? 2:58 3,889
10 Bacon Fat 1:29 5,196
11 Stolen Moments 2:58 4,773
12 Murder By Numbers 5:38 5,256
13 Jezebel Boy 2:27 4,478
14 Outside Now 5:53 18,551
15 Hot Plate Heaven At The Green Hotel 6:41 10,143
16 What Kind Of Girl? 3:17 4,094
17 Jesus Thinks You're A Jerk 9:19 5,842

About this album

Broadway the Hard Way is a Frank Zappa live album recorded at various performances along his 1988 world tour. It was first released as a 9-track vinyl through Zappa’s mail order label Barking Pumpkin in October 1988, and subsequently as a 17-track CD through Rykodisc in 1989.

This album was compiled from Zappa’s last tour in 1988, in a band format. Broadway is mostly focused on acute satire of contemporary figures, both political and social. Throughout the album Zappa’s individual targets include Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan on “Dickie’s Such An Asshole”, Jesse Jackson on “Rhymin’ Man”, Jim and Tammy Faye Bakker and Pat Robertson on “Jesus Thinks You’re A Jerk”, and Michael Jackson and his family on “Why Don’t You Like Me?”

The album contains a relatively large number of covers, from the jazz standard “Stolen Moments” to the The Police song “Murder by Numbers” (with a guest appearance by Sting himself). “Outside Now” is from Joe’s Garage, and “Why Don’t You Like Me” can be easily recognized as a remake of Zappa’s “Tell Me You Love Me”. “Rhymin’ Man” is filled with melodic quotes from evergreens such as “Happy Days Are Here Again”, “Hava Nagila”, “La Cucaracha” and “Frère Jacques”. In “What Kind of Girl” there is a line from “Strawberry Fields Forever” and also includes a part from the “Battle Hymn of the Republic” while “Jesus Thinks You’re a Jerk” quotes “Louie Louie”, “Rock of Ages” and Marius Constant’s Theme from “The Twilight Zone”.

Other releases

Listening Trend

12,688listeners all time
240,404scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • floatondc

    gotta love it. slightly underrated but that's not surprising in a discography the size of zappas.

    10 Oct 2014 Reply
  • minneserv

    1 of my favs of zappa 2 :)

    24 Jul 2012 Reply
  • hyartep

    this is awesome album. my favourite and for sure one of the best!

    25 May 2010 Reply
  • thekidwiththefa

    I'm enjoying this a lot more than Zappa's other 70's/80's albums. A lot more entertaining.

    22 Feb 2010 Reply
  • glassbottle

    Finally got it

    7 Oct 2009 Reply
  • Jaked00d

    My favourite Zappa album. Totally rad.

    25 Jul 2009 Reply

Top Listeners