Polydor Ltd.
Release date
26 Oct 2008
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Ares 3:29 214,787
2 Mercury (Original Mix) 3:53 1,368
3 Halo 3:36 225,386
4 Biko 5:02 214,810
5 Trojan Horse 3:32 196,611
6 Signs 4:40 309,096
7 One Month Off 3:39 225,951
8 Zephyrus 4:35 174,219
9 Talons 3:56 145,316
10 Better Than Heaven 4:22 179,754
11 Ion Square 6:34 171,613

About this album

Intimacy is the third studio album by British indie rock band Bloc Party. It was recorded in two weeks at several locations in London and Kent during 2008 and was produced by Paul Epworth and Jacknife Lee. Inspired by the release options available in the Internet age, the band members made the album available for purchase on their website as a digital download on 21 August 2008. Minimal promotion was undertaken in the UK. The record was released in compact disc form on 24 October 2008, with Wichita Recordings as the primary label. It peaked at number 8 on the UK Albums Chart and entered the Billboard 200 in the United States at number 18.

Bloc Party wanted to create an album that further distanced the band from the traditional rock set-up by incorporating more electronic elements and unconventional musical arrangements. As the record’s title suggests, its tracks are about personal relationships and are loosely based on one of frontman Kele Okereke’s breakups in 2007. Three songs were released as singles: “Mercury”, “Talons”, and “One Month Off”; the first two tracks entered the UK Top 40. Intimacy was generally well received by critics. Reviewers often focused on its rush-release and central theme, and considered them either bold steps or poor choices.

Origins and recording

Bloc Party’s second album A Weekend in the City, released in 2007, allowed the quartet to evolve sonically by including more electronically tampered soundscapes, but the band members were not entirely comfortable with more daring musical arrangements when making the record. According to multi-instrumentalist Gordon Moakes, the impromptu November 2007 single “Flux” “opened a door to the fact that we could go in any direction” in future works.

Other releases

Listening Trend

417,119listeners all time
11,741,103scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • phosgene

    When this album came out I hated it. Now I think it's their best release yet. It's a freakin masterpiece

    24 Mar 7:45pm Reply
  • InYourDark

    Their best album! [2]

    28 Feb 9:11pm Reply
  • perfektionismus

    This is 90% horrible.

    7 Feb 6:12am Reply
  • borgy

    'The clipping on this album is outrageous - any time loud guitars kick in the whole damn things starts distorting and sounds like hell' [2] The sound quality is horrible. Hard to believe the band listened to it back and thought it was good.

    9 Jan 8:56am Reply
  • henrizzle2011

    Only liked the first two tracks really - Ares and Mercury, and One Month Off. The rest sounded generic. But the album after this one is WAY better. In my humble opinion.

    12 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Brickfaced

    Ares is a great opener in my opinion, it's hectic, abrasive (I see this as a good thing in this context) and original. Album is a masterpiece and more varied and innovative than their other albums (which I also love).

    1 Jun 2014 Reply
  • ChrisFallout

    First Bloc Party album. Got into the others nicely but got to ask, why the sudden leap into dancey music? Seems damn strange.

    10 Feb 2014 Reply
  • GabrieelEV

    17 Jan 2014 Reply
  • wmvolckmann

    The clipping on this album is outrageous - any time loud guitars kick in the whole damn things starts distorting and sounds like hell

    10 Oct 2013 Reply
  • ThingsThatRhyme

    Hated it at first, probably just because of the opener, but after that it's phenomenal.

    11 Jul 2013 Reply
  • aneasthesia

    Ares is not the best opener, solid record though.

    13 Apr 2013 Reply
  • rpgmaker

    They should've split if this was the crap that they were going to end up releasing.

    16 Feb 2013 Reply
  • dejoko

    smash it

    3 Nov 2012 Reply
  • omaCore

    Their best album!

    24 Oct 2012 Reply
  • JonathonFarrell

    This album regularly blows my mind.

    20 Oct 2012 Reply
  • Danny23

    i forgot how fucking awesome this album is

    9 Aug 2012 Reply
  • neonblonde

    Their best album BY FAR.

    11 Jul 2012 Reply
  • adamzZz

    Haters gonna hate, this album is amazing.

    23 Jun 2012 Reply
  • suicidepickles

    am I goin crazy or is this album getting bigger? I mean, when it was released, did it have all these songs?

    18 Jun 2012 Reply
  • Merowinger110

    Silent Alarm > A Weekend In The City > Intimacy

    4 Jun 2012 Reply
  • All 264 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners