Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


London, United Kingdom (1998 – present)

Gorillaz are a virtual band formed in 1998 by Damon Albarn of Blur, and Jamie Hewlett, co-creator of the comic book Tank Girl. They had the idea to create the band while watching MTV in their London flat and originally intended to call the project Gorilla.

The band consists of four fictional band members: 2-D (vocals, keyboard), Murdoc Niccals (bass), Noodle (guitar, vocals), and Russel Hobbs (drums). These characters only appear in animated form and are not alter-egos of real people, as is often mistakenly assumed. There is an extensive fictional back-story behind these band members, written by Albarn and Hewlett. Their albums, several of their music videos, and their autobiographical book Rise Of The Ogre all tell the saga. Damon Albarn is the only permanent musical contributor to the band, which is also a collaboration between various musicians. Their style is broad with a large number of alternative influences including , , and .

They have released four studio albums: Gorillaz (2001), Demon Days (2005), Plastic Beach (2010) and The Fall (Also in 2010). Additionally, they have put out two B-side collections, G-Sides (2001) and D-Sides (2007), and a reggae remix of the Gorillaz album entitled Laika Come Home (2002).


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,291,333listeners all time
137,591,214scrobbles all time
#50 in last week’s chart
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • XDRory

    @Agusplayer I've been reading 2016 for quite a while now so unless there's some disater, I think he'll stick with it. Jamie's been putting drawings of the phase 4 Gorillaz characters on his Instagram for months as well, so I think we're closer than we've ever been.

    26 Jul 10:43am Reply
  • alessandraolsen

    u damon

    25 Jul 6:22am Reply
  • titvn

    The Fall is the best albim

    25 Jul 6:06am Reply
  • JJJ567

    Stylo not in the top 15? Sad.

    24 Jul 4:56am Reply
  • Agusplayer

    Well, last year Damon said in a festival that he was writing new stuffs for Gorillaz and that a new album was going to be realised in 2015. We all know that Blur realised an album in April (which was surprising) and now Damon is talking about Gorillaz in 2016. I wouldn't think that much in what he says... I want a new Gorillaz album too but Damon is too busy lately. I hope he can find time. I can imagine Damon recording the new album during the South American's Blur tour (which starts in October) lol. Oh, and he has again in November.

    24 Jul 2:12am Reply
  • LUCE08

    album 4 being recorded in September! [2] best news ever

    22 Jul 7:11pm Reply
  • titvn

    get hype

    21 Jul 9:09am Reply
  • Mr_Sandrik

    Новый альбом в 2016! ╭( ・ㅂ・)و ̑̑

    16 Jul 7:38pm Reply
  • XDRory

    Album 4 being recorded in September!

    16 Jul 2:06pm Reply
  • Christophogo

    You're a winner.

    15 Jul 9:18am Reply
  • tanysik777

    Рецензии и музыкальные обзоры. Обсуждаем хорошую музыку)

    13 Jul 5:23am Reply
  • diseased_racoon

    @ladidavid, Albarn and Hewlett already announced that there will be a new album planned for next year.

    11 Jul 6:23pm Reply
  • The_SchizoidMan

    Recently realized how good On Melancholy Hill is.

    7 Jul 3:05pm Reply
  • ladidavid

    Will dare be a new gorillaz album this year ? besides the new blur album.

    2 Jul 8:00pm Reply
  • Arkandast

    С этой группой давненько знаком уже. Лет 10 как. Тогда увидел на каком-то музыкальном канале клип Feel Good Inc. и понеслось. Кто они, что они. Потом в дальнейшим покупал диски. В те года хотел плакат этой группы прикупить себе, но его нигде не было, а заказывать к тому времени я не умел [да и не знал, интернета то не было]. В общем я предпочитаю для себя не просто слушать аудиозаписи допустим, а просматривать клипы. Именно они мне и нравятся. Тексты некоторых песен также весьма привлекательны и даже грустны. Добротно!

    2 Jul 2:22pm Reply
  • alessandraolsen

    it's coming up

    25 Jun 10:14pm Reply
  • ichiro5

    i have ~3600 scrobbles of Gorillaz. I swear, one day I'll fix my tags on the song names. Many have the featuring artists on them and many don't have.

    23 Jun 7:23pm Reply
  • Jaxxie13

    cant wait for their comeback

    20 Jun 2:11am Reply
  • Scarlett342

    I heard that they're making new album. Check it here:

    17 Jun 3:20pm Reply
  • PlacidBurrito

    It's okay to like The Fall but it's not a studio album.

    13 Jun 1:57pm Reply
  • All 11264 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners