Rock in a Hard Place

Release date
1 Aug 1982
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Jailbait 4:38 26,410
2 Lightning Strikes 4:26 23,319
3 Bitch's Brew 4:13 17,323
4 Bilivian Ragamuffin 3:32 8,141
4 Bolivian Ragamuffin 3:32 8,544
5 Cry Me a River 4:06 19,768
6 Prelude to Joanie 1:20 16,992
7 Joanie's Butterfly 5:35 16,200
8 Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat) 4:45 16,111
9 Jig Is Up 3:10 16,382
10 Push Comes to Shove 4:28 15,726

About this album

Rock in a Hard Place is the seventh studio album by American hard rock band Aerosmith, released on August 1, 1982 on Columbia. It is the only Aerosmith album to not feature guitarist Joe Perry. The band spent 1.5 million dollars on the recording of this album.

Rhythm guitarist Brad Whitford left the band during its recording in 1981. Whitford is billed as an “additional musician”, and can be heard playing rhythm guitar on “Lightning Strikes.” This was also Aerosmith’s last studio album released on Columbia Records until 1997.

Despite the album’s negative reviews, drummer Joey Kramer asserts in his 2009 autobiography, Hit Hard: A Story of Hitting Rock Bottom at the Top: “The record doesn’t suck. There’s some real good stuff on it. But it’s not a real Aerosmith record because it’s just me, Steven, and Tom - with a fill-in guitar player. It’s Jimmy Crespo doing the guitar work.”

Other releases

Listening Trend

53,764listeners all time
430,068scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • DrKerryKing

    This was something like my first rock album, bought with my own money. Bring back some good memories...

    13 Oct 2012 Reply
  • JamesHetfield13

    With the departure of guitarists Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, Aerosmith soldiered on with its first studio album in three years. Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay filled in admirably, considering the shoes they were stepping into, but it’s singer Steven Tyler who holds this collection together. It’s his voice, after all, that gives Aerosmith its identity, even though it’s the band’s rhythm section of bassist Tom Hamilton and drummer Joey Kramer that ensures these songs swing. “Lightning Strikes” is the clear winner here, with a seductive rumble that gives the track a pure appeal. “Bitch’s Brew” is a close second, showing Tyler’s ability with a mid-tempo track that’s neither too hard nor too soft. The cover of “Cry Me a River” puts Tyler unexpectedly in the lounge with the boozy-woozy blues. “Joanie’s Butterfly” is a great song moving from psychedelia and experimentation to hard rock, suggesting where Aerosmith could’ve gone if it had never gotten the original band back together.

    23 Oct 2011 Reply
  • WatsonPepeLives

    J-J-J-J-J-J-J-JAILBAIT! "Lightning Strikes" is also amazing

    31 Jul 2011 Reply
  • mynameisjoehann

    underrated to the max if you ask me its their last good album

    30 Nov 2010 Reply
  • Headbanger62695

    pretty fucking underrated, good album

    14 Jul 2010 Reply
  • MGM_Lioness

    this album came out when i was in high school and is attached to fond memories for me.... yes, great moments, definitely... a lot of grossly under-rated stuff on this album, such a shame...

    22 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Pennyroya1Tea

    Some great moments on here; better than some of the stuff they released later [2] I agree with brianwelsch

    4 Jan 2010 Reply
  • brianwelsch

    Dug this one out again recently. Some great moments on here; better than some of the stuff they released later, in my opinion.

    29 Oct 2009 Reply
  • licoricepizza

    aerosmith without Joe Perry is not aerosmith. like the rolling stones without keith richards are not the stones.

    5 Mar 2009 Reply
  • laura70

    even more unknown than night in the ruts album. still good even though joe perry is not on this one.

    13 Sep 2008 Reply

Top Listeners