Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Sydney, Australia (2000 – present)

Wolfmother is a Grammy Award-winning hard rock band formed in Sydney, New South Wales in 2000. The band originally consisted of Andrew Stockdale (guitar, vocals), Chris Ross (bass, keyboards), and Myles Heskett (drums), though Ross and Heskett left the band in August 2008. With the original line up Wolfmother released one album, Wolfmother, and six singles, the highest-charting of which was “Joker and the Thief” which reached number eight in Australia.

In 2004 Wolfmother began appearing at several high profile music events, such as Homebake and the Big Day Out. They also released their debut self-titled EP through Modular Recordings.

In 2005 the band made their way to Los Angeles, working alongside producer Dave Sardy (of Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Marilyn Manson, and Oasis fame) to record their self-titled debut album, released in October 2005.

In 2006 Wolfmother dominated the Australian Recording Industry Association awards (ARIAs), taking Best Breakthrough Album, Best Rock Album, and Best Group.

In August 2008, after headlining the Splendour in the Grass festival in Byron Bay, Australia, bass/keyboard player Chris Ross and drummer Myles Heskett resigned, leaving just singer/guitarist Andrew Stockdale. Andrew planned to find new musicians before recording another album.

From February 2009 the new line up appeared in two secret gigs under the name Whitefeather. The band officially consists of Dave Atkins on drums, Ian Peres on bass and organ, and Aidan Nemeth as the surprise fourth member and a new guitarist. The new line up’s first album, Cosmic Egg, was released in 2009.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

1,413,961listeners all time
28,350,739scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • reliave

    Hell yeah!

    20 Apr 10:17am Reply
  • nathforhalos

    groovin the moooooo!!! :)

    12 Mar 4:40am Reply
  • TheMathPires

    Que bandão! To curtindo muito o New Crown!

    9 Feb 1:14am Reply
  • Ufasas

    A band where every song is great, rare

    7 Feb 2:28am Reply
  • grungeeisdead

    Andrew Stockdale is a genius, and this band is very underrated.

    4 Feb 2:03pm Reply
  • teemuzful

    10 Oct 2014 Reply
  • Freizeit_Nerd

    Best <3

    9 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Abe_Alves

    dahora o cabelo do vocalista

    26 Jul 2014 Reply
  • alexi1000

    OK, i was very pessimistic and didn' t believe they would really come back as WOLFMOTHER...Andrews Soloalbum made me confident...and now this...i really didn' t hear from the new album since today...and i was (am!) a very big fan of these guys. What do i think at first listen? Can' t say so far...(sound)quality seems really a bit weak as some listeners mentioned here...but there seem to be some fine tunes on it least i hope the "line-up" is finally stable...and they' ll continue a while as one of the best rockbands these days...sorry i had written you off guys! :)

    26 Jun 2014 Reply
  • pedrooleander

    The new album sucks!Tall Ships is fucking great tune though. But the entire album is horrible,just disappointed.

    21 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Ufasas

    good n ew album, tall ships is just perfection

    3 Jun 2014 Reply
  • knight_88

    They gave a great show in Mexico City!

    24 May 2014 Reply
  • Freizeit_Nerd

    I'm loving the new album! <3

    19 May 2014 Reply
  • Freizeit_Nerd

    <3 Love and Peace

    19 May 2014 Reply
  • winterpogo

    woof woof

    2 May 2014 Reply
  • indie777

    first album was GODLY their second was a whirlwind of disappointment. stupid lyrics, flat recording sound, awwwful awful vocals, with a few great tracks: far away, pilgrim, back round, caroline. this album is a mix between first +second albums. its a step in the right direction. the vocals are better(still nasaly but at least shrill again) the guitar and drums are great sounding. the lyrics could be better, there are some out there songs on this album, but thank you wolfmother for fixing your sound! great new album Im loving it!!

    30 Apr 2014 Reply
  • kassirb_gnr

    I'm loving the new album!

    29 Apr 2014 Reply
  • DonCappuccino

    The new album sucks, really sucks. It sounds like some ideas from the band members crammed together in songs and recording it in one time with horrible vocals and an execution that's downright crappy. What the fuck, Wolfmother, the first two albums were amazing, New Crown is some of the worst music I have heard in months.

    22 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Westonhal

    The new album is pretty unremarkable.

    16 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Ovel_ha

    New album rocks!!!

    16 Apr 2014 Reply
  • All 3079 shouts