Cosmic Egg

Universal Music Australia Pty. Ltd.
Release date
26 Oct 2009
Running length
16 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 California Queen 3:55 135,559
2 New Moon Rising 3:46 167,294
3 White Feather 3:04 120,670
4 Sundial 3:48 112,110
5 In the Morning 5:40 95,544
6 10,000 Feet 4:09 102,369
7 Cosmic Egg 4:05 106,766
8 Far Away 4:00 104,864
9 Cosmonaut 4:49 58,482
10 Pilgrim 4:51 84,451
11 Eyes Open 5:11 54,410
12 Back Round 3:56 80,402
13 In the Castle 5:43 75,066
14 Caroline 4:32 53,193
15 Phoenix 4:45 75,006
16 Violence of the Sun 6:03 71,598

About this album

Cosmic Egg is the second studio album by Australian rock band Wolfmother, released on 23 October 2009. It is the first album by the second lineup of the band, featuring vocalist, songwriter and lead guitarist Andrew Stockdale, bassist and keyboardist Ian Peres, rhythm guitarist Aidan Nemeth and drummer Dave Atkins, formed in 2009 after original members Chris Ross and Myles Heskett left in August 2008. Upon its release, Cosmic Egg peaked at number three on the Australian ARIA Albums Chart, the same position as the band’s first album. The album was the only studio release by the band to feature Atkins, who left the band in April 2010 during the Cosmic Egg promotional tour cycle.

The album was recorded between April and May 2009 at Sound City Studios and Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles, California. The title of the album comes from a position in yoga described by frontman Stockdale as “like the fetal pose”.The album’s release was promoted throughout 2009 and 2010 by the New Moon Rising World Tour, beginning in September 2009 in Australia. The first song released from the album was the promotional digital download single “Back Round” on 2 June 2009; “New Moon Rising” was the first full single release from Cosmic Egg, on 25 August 2009.

Other releases

Listening Trend

264,311listeners all time
5,362,010scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • EmperorLuddite

    Feel a bit of fool to ignore this album for nearly 4 years. outrageously good...

    18 Aug 2013 Reply
  • ChrisFallout

    Caroline... This album is freaking amazing. <3 everytime

    11 Dec 2012 Reply
  • michel-angelo


    24 May 2012 Reply
  • EvpatiKolovrati

    Лучший альбом.

    7 Feb 2012 Reply
  • fevereb

    Play it LOUD! Can't get bored of any song. Full of brilliant epic ones, like Sundial, Far Away, In the Castle, Violence of the Sun and from the deluxe edition, Eyes Open and Caroline. Yeah...

    14 Oct 2011 Reply
  • ricardo_m

    i'd say this is one of the best rock albums of bands 'recently' formed.

    12 Oct 2011 Reply
  • mirtaisokay

    this one is pretty mediocre compared to their debut... can't say it's bad though.

    21 Sep 2011 Reply
  • lll__

    they lost their touch when everyone ditched the band

    3 May 2011 Reply
  • mihirnawathe

    They lost their stoner shit over here...some good songs and decent guitar solos in some songs...a very average album as compared to their first one...New Moon Rising is fucking kickass though!

    28 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Ian_McGee

    I don't know why,but I really,really love song Far Away XD So catchy and awesome :D

    19 Mar 2011 Reply
  • rotting_schntzl

    how is this worse? the previous was pure amateurism compared to this. who stumbles upon lyrics anyway? this is way more stoner than their other stuff, meaning they don't care about pussy, they're just playing what they wanna.

    7 Mar 2011 Reply
  • abrakadabrams

    I'm not a big fan of this one too. They sound more like fuckin nickelback or something... quite disappointing.

    26 Feb 2011 Reply
  • andreduarte_bh

    this album cover reminds me a lot this:

    25 Jan 2011 Reply
  • adace

    very underrated, better than their first album

    17 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Qpa_HCKC

    Cosmic Egg... God damnit! Its a name of one tracks from Cowboy Bebop! (Love it!)

    3 Jan 2011 Reply
  • tasakk

    diferent.... very diferent... they lose something... [3]

    29 Dec 2010 Reply
  • Adik19

    Cosmic Egg is great!

    23 Dec 2010 Reply
  • annamon_

    Tuuudo *-* <3

    25 Nov 2010 Reply
  • phantom_ganon

    This album sucks so much cock compared to their debut.

    10 Nov 2010 Reply
  • fank19

    diferent.... very diferent... they lose something... [2]

    9 Oct 2010 Reply
  • All 108 shouts

Top Listeners