Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Used


Everyone’s tags

More tags


The Used is an American band from Orem, Utah. Their sound has been classified under many sub-genres of rock. They signed with Reprise Records in late 2001 and rose to fame in June 2002 after releasing their debut self-titled album, The Used. Soon after a CD/DVD package named “Maybe Memories” was released containing unheard demos and a “behind the scenes” story of the band/band’s past. They followed up with their second album, In Love and Death, in September 2004 and their third album, Lies For The Liars, in May 2007. An EP, Shallow Believer, was released in February 2008 that featured most of the band’s B-sides to date. They spent the entire year of 2008 working on their fourth studio album, Artwork, which was released September 1st, 2009. The band has achieved both Gold and Platinum statuses in over 6 countries worldwide. Speaking with Songfacts
in a 2012 interview, The Used bassist Jeph Howard said that “A Box Full of Sharp Objects” is probably his favorite song by the band.

A few years ago, while preparing to send the album art for b-side collection Shallow Believer to his record label, Bert McCracken scrawled the word “Artwork” across its cover in silver ink. The sentiment, which, to Bert and his bandmates in The Used, resonated with both extreme simplicity and indescribable complexity, said everything without really having to say anything. Now, the Utah band has titled their fourth full-length album with that very word: Artwork.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

1,176,316listeners all time
50,861,834scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Rus_Used

    100k listening please!!!!!!

    Yesterday 2:57am Reply
  • markvonucci


    6 Nov 7:11pm Reply
  • makushka1

    On My Own <3

    5 Oct 10:57am Reply
  • RuhFernandes

    Blue and Yellow, so nostalgic <3

    30 Sep 12:50am Reply
  • lost_to_apathy

    Not that bands shouldn't change and evolve, but I really wish they'd built on their sound of their emotionally charged debut, even now I still love it, such passion... Their other albums are so far removed and plain odd... To me.

    18 Sep 7:40pm Reply
  • tortACh

    Последний альбом ахуенен!!!

    3 Sep 4:13pm Reply
  • StupidCupcake

    The Bird And The Worm. ♥

    13 Aug 5:25pm Reply
  • s1rgey


    7 Aug 5:11pm Reply
  • ourwayout

    If you like The Used, you should check out my band Our Way Out: Thanks and enjoy!

    5 Aug 2:26pm Reply
  • Dnwo

    @TDcore: Hm, no kidding. Seeing the way you described their first albums, I can't help but assume your last shout was a mere self-reference.

    21 Jul 7:56pm Reply
  • TDcore

    @Dnwo: Not being sarcastic. Some people just don't know good song-writing when it bites them on the arse.

    19 Jul 10:31pm Reply
  • MrZacarius

    @SexWithMinors obviously has so much infinite knowledge and we should all listen to him because he thinks his political beliefs are infallible.

    19 Jul 4:46pm Reply
  • fuuuuuuuunny

    limonad_limonad, тру

    19 Jul 7:56am Reply
  • limonad_limonad

    Реал эмо.

    18 Jul 8:20am Reply
  • Dnwo

    "Imaginary Enemy is the best album this band has put out. None of the others ever really impressed me, seeing as I thought alot of the songs were terribly written and cheesy. IE is a mature record though, with a meaning, great lyrics and superb music." --- I just loved your use of SARCASM here, mate. Nicely done.

    15 Jul 1:56am Reply
  • TDcore

    I'm sorry but Imaginary Enemy is the best album this band has put out. None of the others ever really impressed me, seeing as I thought alot of the songs were terribly written and cheesy. IE is a mature record though, with a meaning, great lyrics and superb music. I think the message just wasn't interesting enough for all the emos that listen to this band. It's my favorite album of the year so far, and I hope they continue with this style.

    5 Jul 7:43pm Reply
  • SergeevaIra

    Belarus, Zajebis! [2]

    9 Jun 8:36am Reply
  • J_Rainey

    lol guys if you don't like IE don't listen to it. stop writing shit about new album. show some respect.

    8 Jun 9:12pm Reply
  • AwesomeT

    7 Jun 9:22am Reply
  • Tahn

    Holy crap these guys went from emotional to political. What experiences in their lives caused this sudden change? Imaginary Enemy is certainly, umm, different? Probably won't appeal to the more hard-core fans but I didn't mind it. Still prefer the older songs that were cutting straight to the heart kinda stuff. More of that, please! :)

    21 May 8:36am Reply
  • All 5817 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners