Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Protest the Hero


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Whitby, Toronto ON, Canada (1999 – present)

Protest the Hero are a Canadian band from Whitby, Ontario. Originally named Happy Go Lucky, the band line-up has remained the same since their formation in 1999. The band changed their name to Protest the Hero shortly before releasing their debut EP, Search for the Truth, in 2002. In 2005, the band released their first full-length album, Kezia, on the indie label Underground Operations.

On January 23, 2006, the band signed with Vagrant Records for Kezia’s American release on April 4, 2006. Their second full-length album, Fortress was released by Underground Operations in Canada and by Vagrant Records worldwide on January 29, 2008. The band released their third studio album, Scurrilous, on March 22, 2011.
The band released their independent and latest album, Volition on October 29. 2013.

Rody Walker – lead vocals
Tim Millar – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Luke Hoskin – lead guitar, backing vocals, piano
Arif Mirabdolbaghi – bass guitar, backing vocals
Mike Ieradi – drums, percussion


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

245,989listeners all time
16,011,350scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • TheWrathofThor

    never knew James LaBrie was in a mathcore abnd

    Yesterday 12:34pm Reply
  • KFLester

    n.. no!! No!!!! Im not owned!!!!!!

    14 Jul 9:34am Reply
  • forgetmenot

    KFLester, you have won the Ignorant 12-Year-Old Douchebag of the Year award. Congrats.

    14 Jul 2:50am Reply
  • KFLester

    Lol, so cringe worthy. Its my right to free speech, this isnt north korea, or worse, tumblr.

    12 Jul 10:37pm Reply
  • VanillaDragon

    Sick buzzwords bro, stay bitter about life. its not worth arguing in a shout box lmao

    12 Jul 9:40pm Reply
  • KFLester

    wow, sjw much? Music is for fun, and its my hobby not a place for social INjustice facists, to censor normal people. Im sorry your not smart enough that you dwell into cultural marxism.

    12 Jul 8:01pm Reply
  • VanillaDragon

    Music has ALWAYS had politics, the point you tried to make there is non-existant

    12 Jul 5:28pm Reply
  • KFLester

    im just tired, of people making everything, about poltiics. music never used to have all these politics. its really bad.

    12 Jul 4:37pm Reply
  • VanillaDragon

    @KFLester i find it ironic how you're calling these guys oversensitive but your comments literally ooze of butthurt. What a complete lack of self-awareness lmao

    12 Jul 3:36pm Reply
  • KFLester

    i mean,, buhh? like, men have problems too?? these guys are Dwelling into Alot of fuckin Cringe. im going to post this band on /r/cringe, infact. this is about ethics in metalcore lyrics

    9 Jul 8:56pm Reply
  • KFLester

    i know right?? Fucking Females, acting like professional victims.... smh, pth, smh.... its not as if that song is about something that really happened, nobody would ever doubt a rape survivor's story in irl... wish someone would stand up, for mens rights, for once, in history, imo

    9 Jul 8:45pm Reply
  • Xaulb

    verb the noun

    6 Jul 3:21pm Reply
  • doki-doki-doki-

    PTH makes some good points, though. But Plato's Tripartite dwells into the 3rd wave feminist bullshit myth that women are raped way more than men are. Kinda cringeworthy, but I still love them.

    5 Jul 8:38pm Reply
  • ato1945


    23 Jun 4:18pm Reply
  • KFLester

    I hate this band, for perverting Metal and turning it into a social justice warrior bleeding heart pinko lib whine fest. How about, you go back to tumbler? Really pathetic, grow up Protest the Hero.. more like Oversensitive, The Hero.

    18 Jun 11:03am Reply
  • Snowtrace

    Volition best

    10 Jun 5:37am Reply
  • TheWrathofThor

    This band feels like Dream Theater, but the hardcore version.

    4 Jun 9:02am Reply
  • Brandon_Exylum

    Fortress > Volition > Kezia > Scurrilous > Other People's Music

    29 May 5:01am Reply
  • xVTSWx

    Volition is good but still their worst. Yeah, you may smack me personally now or something

    28 May 2:26pm Reply
  • doki-doki-doki-

    volition is really good btw. if i hear you talkin SHIT i will personally smack you up in the mouth [2] agreed

    14 May 5:18am Reply
  • All 6036 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners