Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Tokyo, Japan (1997 – present)

POLYSICS is a Japanese new wave/synth pop/punk/rock band, hailing from Tokyo. The band started in 1997, but got their big break in 1998 at a concert in Tokyo. They create high energy music, fusing conventional guitar music, with synthesized and computer generated sound to create a unique mixture of punk and electro-pop. Their song lyrics often consist of Japanese, English, or just plain gibberish. The band has been noted for their extremely energetic live performances and their wild gimmicky outfits.

Since 1999 POLYSICS have released several albums. The albums 1st P and A.D.S.R.M! were released on the independent label DECKREC Records. Just after the release of 1st P their bassist, known only as “POLY-2”, left. The band dropped the “POLY-X” names, and reduced to a trio, with new member Fumi on Bass Support on some of the tracks from Neu. In 1999, Asian Man Records released their US Debut album, Hey! Bob! My Friend to rave reviews, but weak sales. The album was a compilation of tracks from their first two Japanese releases. In 2000, POLYSICS signed to Ki/oon Records (a subsidiary of Sony Music Entertainment (Japan) Inc.) and released their first major album Neu. The album carried with it the same manic energy as their independent releases but more refined. On the 2001 album Eno, Synthesizers became more prevalent in the mix, but the songs still had an intense punk-like energy. For this album, Fumi returned to the band as a full member, returning POLYSICS to a quartet. 2002 saw the release of the album FOR YOUNG ELECTRIC POP, POLYSICS attempt at a pop album.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

117,460listeners all time
4,455,043scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Gankzor

    Бурятский? Лол.

    15 Jul 3:19pm Reply
  • GriendClub

    Музыка ну оч.заводная, да и звучит интересно, но блять, бурятский уши режит

    13 Jun 10:57am Reply
  • Wolf_Cola

    New EP, where are you? I think it's the Dr Pepper trademark that is keeping this from coming to American digital markets. I had to jump through hoops just to watch the music video for it. (The song & video aren't very good, by the way. Polysics is slipping back into that "goofy/silly" kind of weird, which does not creatively suit them.)

    7 Apr 4:13pm Reply
  • FefeVIP

    awesome band.. love them

    25 Jan 4:50pm Reply
  • kevhog

    "they sound like P-Model except awesome" how fucking dare you

    15 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Lipehlol

    whoa! this is awesome!

    24 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    This feels like Devo pastiche, I love it haha

    11 Jul 2014 Reply
  • Nakkinak

    they sound like P-Model except awesome

    28 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Wolf_Cola

    Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post Post

    14 Feb 2014 Reply
  • AutumnOath

    I love the new album on first listen already. Happy that they went back to a more gritty sound, reminds me way more of their earlier releases than the past few more poppy albums.

    19 Jan 2014 Reply
  • MachineCoil

    New album is awesome.

    18 Jan 2014 Reply
  • Wolf_Cola

    Album is great. A bit samey, but the synths sound more dense and crunchy than they have in a long time. It won't be a big hit with people who prefer the last 10 years of the band. There is no "Let's..." "Lucky Star" or any other kind of "have fun and sing along with us" singles on it. Just radio unfriendly "keep up, if you can" sonic speed rocking out.

    16 Jan 2014 Reply
  • The_MAT_Mark

    Actually, I might've been too harsh with MOD. It's roughly the same price as a single so it could be a generous offering by the POLYSICS party and/or it would get more attention from people as it has more tracks. The main--and probably only--problem I have with it is if Ki/oon/K-On/Whatever decided to push Action!!!'s (damn I don't even know how to punctuate that) back so they could market MOD more. It's into a new year and so makes it look like POLYSICS is on the decline with outputting less. Obviously POLYSICS could release another album in 2014, I can't see them doing that.

    13 Jan 2014 Reply
  • The_MAT_Mark

    I'm tilting my head in curiosity at what "Action!!!" will be like. It's available internationally on Amazon in MP3 form. They should really be sending out a newsletter informing people of this. I personally think MOD was a mistake. They should've just had the other four songs as b-sides on two singles and financially that would probably be better for them. Instead their discography continues to look messy after the departure of Kayo, we have a crappy music video for "Turbo Drive", and "Action!!!" appears short (but is actually long for a POLYSICS album).

    13 Jan 2014 Reply
  • AutumnOath

    After Mega Over Drive turning out so well I think that Action!!! might be one of my most anticipated Polysics releases of the past few years. Really can't wait.

    13 Jan 2014 Reply
  • Eudes_Ferreira

    Vote, please!

    27 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Wolf_Cola

    Action!!! is the name of new album, and it will be released January 15th!

    6 Dec 2013 Reply
  • CaptainMongol

    Mega Overdrive seems to take the best of their earlier punk sound and cross it with the heavy synth use they're characterized by today, i.e. it's pretty fucking great and worth a listen.

    3 Dec 2013 Reply
  • emptystream

    Hope to see them playing a gig in Sao Paulo one day.

    16 Nov 2013 Reply
  • PierreMenes


    15 Nov 2013 Reply
  • All 832 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners