Release date
25 Jun 2008
Running length
26 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Dawn of Creation 2:31 41,850
2 Prophecy 5:26 47,670
3 Awakening 0:52 38,090
4 Revelations 7:05 38,307
5 The Four Horseman 1:35 3,955
6 War 4:28 34,545
7 Sands of Time 2:36 34,910
8 Pestilence and Plague 5:08 35,287
9 Death 7:33 30,458
10 Peace 2:21 30,095
11 Conquest 4:42 30,194
12 Lost Love 4:28 31,011
13 Persecution 6:34 28,148
17 Shadows in the Flame 1:10 26,010
21 Calm Before the Storm 2:05 24,037
23 Future of Mankind 8:29 25,506
1 Solitude 1:22 27,641
2 Exiled 5:12 24,707
3 Alone 7:50 29,553
5 Visions 5:24 29,316
6 Hope 2:09 24,922
7 New Beginnings 4:56 24,559
9 Nostradamus 6:43 38,366

About this album

Nostradamus is a concept album by English heavy metal band Judas Priest, focusing on the 16th century prophet Nostradamus. The band’s first concept album, it was originally intended to be released in late 2006 before being pushed back to a 2007 release, and was finally released in June 2008 on Epic Records. It is also the band’s 16th studio album to date.

Judas Priest toured with Motörhead, Heaven and Hell, and Testament on the Metal Masters Tour to promote Nostradamus.

Guitarist K. K. Downing revealed in a February 2007 interview with Brave Words & Bloody Knuckles that 18 tracks had been recorded with a total length of more than 90 minutes and that there was not much he would like to cut down. Musically, the album contains symphonic orchestrations including the use of keyboards and choirs which is unlike anything the band has previously attempted. In November 2007 the band began mixing the album.

In November 2007, singer Rob Halford indicated that it was still undecided whether it would be a double-disc set or not. In April 2008, it was confirmed that the album would be released as a double-CD/triple vinyl LP.

According to, the album was released in Europe on June 16, 2008 and June 17 in United States. Three configurations of Nostradamus have been issued. The most common is a regular jewel-cased double CD, but there is also a “CD deluxe hardbound version,” which features a 48-page booklet, while a “super deluxe version” includes three vinyl records (in addition to the CD deluxe packaging, plus a poster).

Other releases

Listening Trend

64,818listeners all time
1,685,434scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Peace_Sells86

    This album is NOT a disaster. It was an experiment which is a grower. I respect this album a lot more now.

    17 May 11:08am Reply
  • Ephiros

    One of their best album, so far.

    9 Apr 9:37pm Reply
  • onlycharles

    With all respect that I have for Halford and Judas Priest one of my favorite bands but this album it's a disaster. I hope never more in my life hear this record. To listen something similar and "Beauty Heavy Metal" I prefer listen Rhapsody Of Fire, Stratovarius, Sonata Arctica, Helloween, Edguy, Avantasia, Symphony X, Angra... I want of Judas Priest ever "TRUE Heavy Metal" xD

    25 Mar 5:55pm Reply
  • nargoman

    Some really good tracks on this album. It's not typical Priest and I think it's overlong, but it would be stupid to call it a bad album.

    30 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Hank_Shrader

    Makes me vomit!

    22 Sep 2014 Reply
  • juan--d-_-b

    boooring ...

    12 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Tensir

    Not best, not worst. It cant be compared to their other works becuse it is completely different.

    28 Jul 2014 Reply
  • DonMatt447

    This sounds like a Christopher Lee Album!!! Its a good one , but there are many intros and things like that, i dont push it very well [2]

    26 Jun 2014 Reply
  • bonjovyborges

    This sounds like a Christopher Lee Album!!! Its a good one , but there are many intros and things like that, i dont push it very well

    26 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Rubberbandman16

    Very different CD, takes a while 2 get used 2 it. Not heavy metal, so gonna turn some people off

    5 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Aarny

    A year later since my last comment and I believe exactly the same. I do agree with Jewrusalem's mixing comment, but I think it's fine. Still one of their best.

    21 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Midnight-Mover


    29 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Jewrusalem

    My only gripe with these CDs is the underwhelming production. As much as I respect their choice for total creative control, Tom Allom or Chris Tsangarides really would've brought the full potential out of these songs with a sense of what Priest wanted. The nearest equivalent would be the piss-poor job Steve Harris did on the desk for The X Factor, which contained some of his best compositions to-date. A full remix and remaster of this album in the future will accentuate its greatness, SO LET IT BE WRITTEN, SO SHALL IT BE DONE PROPHECY ONE HUNNED

    9 Aug 2013 Reply
  • pavel_10

    Best album. [2] Absolute masterpiece, so diverse and melodic. Priest reached its true maturity.

    11 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Walker15

    Best album. [2]

    23 Jun 2013 Reply
  • JoannaVonB

    I don't get the hate for this album, it's brilliant. [3]

    10 Jun 2013 Reply
  • Gorefan

    I don't get the hate for this album, it's brilliant. [2]

    22 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Inna__Osennyaya

    Best album.

    2 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Veinrot

    Not their best, but by no means bad. Some tracks are brilliant.

    25 Jan 2013 Reply
  • KeIemvor

    It has nothing to do with not being typical metal... it's just poor, uninspired and boring songwriting. That's the problem. But it's often the case with conceptual albums because artists pay more attention to writing the concept than writing actual good music.

    22 Jan 2013 Reply
  • All 229 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners