The New Order

Release date
5 May 1988
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Eerie Inhabitants 3:50 44,564
2 The New Order 4:31 90,958
3 Trial by Fire 4:17 87,056
4 Into the Pit 2:54 97,946
5 Hypnosis 2:04 36,214
6 Disciples of the Watch 5:05 85,473
7 The Preacher 4:20 66,712
8 Nobody's Fault 3:55 36,239
9 A Day of Reckoning 4:00 35,611
10 Musical Death (A Dirge) 4:02 29,464

About this album

The New Order is the second album by the thrash metal group Testament, released on May 10, 1988 (see 1988 in music). It is the album that broke Testament into the thrash metal mainstream, with singles “Trial by Fire” (which featured a music video, as did “Nobody’s Fault”) and “The Preacher”. This success would only grow with their next album Practice What You Preach.

The tracks “Hypnosis” and “Musical Death (A Dirge)” are instrumentals.

Other releases

Listening Trend

182,561listeners all time
1,640,215scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • ThrashOfGod

    Absolutely brilliant !!!

    10 May 4:06pm Reply
  • Wacke666

    I love this album! I remember hearing "Trail By Fire" ass-many years back and I was in love instantly!

    4 May 6:11pm Reply
  • cannibal_ism666

    My favourite Testament album.[4]

    28 Apr 7:47pm Reply
  • KoRnish-san

    Great album, terrible production, overall I prefet The Legacy.

    20 Aug 2013 Reply
  • patisawesome121

    A great release. One of their best next to "The Legacy".

    9 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Kertalaaki

    Peeps in metal archives are idiots. I have never understood what the fuck is their problem with this album. Also, lots of them have no own opinions, they just write what everyone else there writes. It's important to be accepted by the other ultra kvlt members! I mean what the hell people, this is one the greatest thrash records ever, deal with it. Same thing goes to every Metallica record there. I wonder how bad brain-acid ears blood bursting shit some albums must be to give it 0 percentage review? Some of MA reviews are just a joke, not to mentioned take too seriously. Well, there also are ppl who actually know something, and you can spot them pretty easy by reading the reviews regularly.

    17 Jun 2013 Reply
  • donotcurseatme

    Possibly their best. It's hard to decide. Definitely one of their best.

    7 May 2013 Reply
  • Montslaveden

    My favourite Testament album.[3]

    10 Feb 2013 Reply
  • V4run

    One hell of a thrash masterpiece!

    27 Oct 2012 Reply
  • JoannaVonB

    Pretty Underrated ; /

    6 Aug 2012 Reply
  • AS_Luemmel

    do you really give a fuck what other morons write ? I don't go for what magazines or other users review, sometimes they are quite right, sometimes I rather have the opposite opinion about it. All that matters is that --> I (or you for that matter) <-- like the Music. As for New Order: fantastic album, I like Legacy a tiny bit more, but nevertheless a gem.

    26 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Peace_Sells86

    lol The same archives that gave Rust in Peace by Megadeth a 0 as well no less.

    14 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Peace_Sells86

    My favourite Testament album.

    7 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Killed-By-Death

    Thrashterpiece. Hell, this was released a month before I was born!!

    30 Jun 2012 Reply
  • MarcoSLW

    Absolutely masterpiece...

    29 Mar 2012 Reply
  • JoeTheSourBreak

    If Carlsberg did a thrash metal album, this would be the result.

    21 Feb 2012 Reply
  • Jealousheart

    Huge sound + awesome music + great riffs + nice lyrics = one of the best thrash metal albums ever

    9 Jan 2012 Reply

    Great follow up to Legacy and the instrumentals in between.

    5 Nov 2011 Reply
  • Pottstradamus

    A top 5 Thrash Metal album, absolute masterpiece

    3 Nov 2011 Reply
  • Steelreaper

    Greatest album in the History of Thrash in my opinion. The Legacy was great but the melodies and songwriting on this is above and beyond.

    27 Oct 2011 Reply
  • All 91 shouts

Top Listeners