Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Ima Robot


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Los Angeles, United States (1998 – present)

IMA Robot is a band based in Los Angeles, CA that formed in 1998, after Alexander Ebert’s band The Lucky 13’s broke up. But they really only came to fruition in the early 2000s after signing with Virgin Records. The band’s vocalist, Alex Ebert, originally wanted to be a rapper before becoming a singer. The band’s other original members were Timmy Anderson, OliGee, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, and the prolific studio drummer Joey Waronker. Meldal-Johnsen and Waronker were sought-after musicians who had played with Beck before joining IMA Robot.

Their first full-length album released on September 6, 2003 was self-titled IMA Robot, and featured the singles “Dynomite” and “Song #1” (released in the UK only.) The band has toured with artists such as Hot Hot Heat, The Von Bondies, Hoobastank, The Sounds, She Wants Revenge and others. In 2004 Waronker and Oligee left the band, and Meldal-Johnsen followed in 2005, with former Oleander drummer Scott Devours taking over drumming duties, Filip Nikolic taking over on bass, and Andy Marlow on keyboards and guitar. In June of 2008 Lars Vognstrup joined the group, having previously played with Nikolic in Junior Senior. On September 12, 2006 IMA Robot released their second album Monument To The Masses which featured the singles “Creeps Me Out” and “Lovers in Captivity”.

In April 2007, the band won their independence from Virgin Records, and went under the management of Alexis Rivera of Echo Park Records.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

198,506listeners all time
2,702,878scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners