Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Word Alive


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Phoenix, United States (2008 – present)

The Word Alive is an American band from Phoenix, Arizona, formed in 2008, the band is currently signed to Fearless Records. Their 2009 label debut, Empire reached position 15 on the Top Heatseekers, meeting a great amount of positive acclaim upon its release in 2009. The following year, the group recorded and released their debut full-length album, Deceiver on August 31, 2010, which reached 97 on the Billboard 200 and 15 on Independent Albums. The Word Alive has gained renown praise for their innovative style of modern metalcore; blending , , and ambient elements into their overall delivery. The Word Alive was founded in 2008 by Craig Mabbitt (lead vocals) with Zack Hansen (lead guitar) and Tony Pizzuti (rhythm guitar) who were former members of the bands Calling of Syrens and Clouds Take Shape. As a side-project of Mabbitt during his part in Escape the Fate, the remaining required members he recruited to start The Word Alive were chosen to be Nick Urlacher (bass), Dusty Riach (keyboard) and Tony Aguilera (drums). The group recorded songs with the intention of releasing them as a self-titled EP, despite that it never surfaced. Later on, the band forced Mabbitt to leave due to their dissatisfaction with Escape the Fate’s schedules, which required Mabbitt to work as a full-time member.

The day after, Mabbitt posted a blog to his fans via his Myspace account explaining that leaving the band was not his decision and that ” pretty much replaced me while I was on the road due to the fact that they wanted to tour and couldn’t until I was available, I started that band with those guys and I’m very hurt at how they replaced me while I was touring.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

317,817listeners all time
6,196,232scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • TMNTfan-

    Just ordered my copy of 'Real'. Can't wait to have a listen :D Only £4.99 from Amazon too! Oh, and this is my first post/shout! Helloooo everybody!

    12 Sep 11:26am Reply
  • vlad2208

    light house <3

    23 Aug 6:24pm Reply
  • HerFadingSmile

    new album doesn't work for me

    11 Aug 6:24am Reply
  • iPowers

    The new album is really good. There are some really epic songs here and there are a few that are different from what they usually do, but in a good way. Definitely wouldn't be named as best album of 2014. Craig Mabbitt's new album with his new band The Dead Rabbitts is much much better.

    5 Aug 1:47pm Reply
  • xH8UALLx

    New album is alright. Nothing special. [2] 'Lighthouse' is catchy, though. loved it.

    29 Jul 6:59pm Reply
  • AndreyLeto

    New album is fucking amazing!!!

    10 Jul 5:48pm Reply
  • PastSanctuary

    well the new album is sonically decent, but the lyrics for Play the Victim are completely laughable and a good way to alienate a large part of your fanbase

    4 Jul 6:02pm Reply
  • RocknReel

    Real review:

    30 Jun 1:54pm Reply
  • TDcore

    Sorry, but Real is freaking horrendous. Laughable lyrics, uninspired music. Piece of crap album.

    26 Jun 10:36pm Reply
  • o8949

    Awesome band.

    26 Jun 6:44am Reply

    New album is alright. Nothing special.

    19 Jun 12:41pm Reply
  • HerFadingSmile

    the european and itunes bonus tracks are out... "Pull Us Out Of The Grave" and "Exit Strategy"

    17 Jun 10:46pm Reply
  • bobo9390

    I like new CG. It reminds me of a heavier version of what Eighteen Visions were doing on their final two albums. Not that namedropping 18V is even going to ring a bell with too many people nowadays.

    15 Jun 9:56pm Reply
  • wortex

    New album is really good. Not better than Life Cycles, but it has some really strong songs like Play The Victim, Never Forget, Your Mirage etc. Haters gonna hate, but this is seriously some step forward. If you want failure, look at the new things from Chelsea Grin...

    14 Jun 9:10am Reply
  • bobo9390

    New album isn't bad at all. I was never a huge fan of this band, but they've never released anything I didn't at least enjoy.

    12 Jun 7:56pm Reply
  • vlad2208

    очень порадовал альбом.для меня он лучший у них

    11 Jun 4:57pm Reply
  • Poopydude13

    "Real" would've been a pretty good album if it hadn't included Lighthouse. Tryin' too damn hard to be an anthem song and just fallin' on its face.

    11 Jun 2:20pm Reply
  • sunjay140

    The new album is decent. They have become a pop band.

    10 Jun 9:03pm Reply
  • musicoveryou

    damn this new album sucks

    9 Jun 10:41pm Reply
  • ReaIis

    Loving their new album. Welcome back to my playlist rotation TWA!

    9 Jun 9:56pm Reply
  • All 2213 shouts