Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Hush Sound


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Chicago, United States (2004 – present)

The Hush Sound is a pop quartet from Chicago, Illinois formed in 2004. Initially named “The Hush,” the band changed their name to “The Hush Sound” when Geffen Records objected that their name was too similar to rapper Hush. The band consists of Bob Morris on vocals and guitar, Mike Leblanc on bass and vocals, Darren Wilson on drums and vocals, and Greta Salpeter on vocals and piano. Original bassist Chris Faller left the band in October 2008 in order to pursue other musical interests and was replaced by Mike LeBlanc, who had toured with them previously on their “Dance Across the Country Tour”.

In 2005 the band released their first studio album So Sudden. Their second studio album, Like Vines, was released in 2006 on Fueled by Ramen.

The Hush Sound was founded by Greta Salpeter and Bob Morris. The two met when Greta was in 7th grade and Bob was in 10th. In the eyes of many of their peers, Bob and Greta were deemed an “odd couple.” Bob had always been a player and performer of rock music, whereas Greta was a classical pianist.

By the end of March of 2005, The Hush Sound took their music into the studio to record their debut full-length album. The studio was the Gallery of Carpet located in Villa Park, IL run by owner Brian Zieske. They named it “So Sudden”—a reflection on how quickly things were moving for the band. They released their first album with no label support at the time, but nevertheless sold 300 CDs in two nights.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

296,241listeners all time
13,150,201scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Lentron

    I'm so happy these guys are touring again. They are the only band that I have consistently listened to on a daily basis for over a year now. I think the best songs they have are when they sing together, such as Wine Red and My Apologies... and don't forget Echo!

    9 Mar 3:49am Reply
  • ArrogantSin

    Endless love for this band. [2] desperate for new music from them [2]

    2 Mar 1:47am Reply
  • bucksongxx

    desperate for new music from them

    4 Feb 2:58pm Reply
  • Jcool0

    They were better before Greta Salpeter took over.

    22 Nov 2014 Reply
  • SidIsOnFire

    Still waiting on that new album. Frick.

    28 Oct 2014 Reply
  • kineticwaves

    Sister introduced me to this band. I like many of their songs.

    9 Oct 2014 Reply
  • xx_Kari_xx

    They will always be my favorite band ❤, I miss them so much u_u

    13 Sep 2014 Reply
  • xdanythelettuce

    their music is so good!! <3

    11 Dec 2013 Reply
  • danibaglioni

    great band!

    15 Oct 2013 Reply
  • oceanseacrest

    Bob is still one of my favorite male vocalists of all time. And So Sudden is still one of my favorite albums of all time. I will always love this band.

    9 Sep 2013 Reply
  • rabbitluck

    I hope they play more shows in Canadia

    4 Sep 2013 Reply
  • JustAKayee

    You are the moon is so pretty <3 <3 [2]

    27 Jun 2013 Reply
  • ikabupini

    I like the Hush Sound, though I think Gold Motel is better IMHO. :)

    24 Jun 2013 Reply
  • HeyJeremyC

    Endless love for this band. They came into my life at a very important time and for that they will always have a special place in my heart. :')

    13 Jun 2013 Reply
  • Majorfifth

    "The band has announced that they have reformed, and their new album is expected to be released in the spring of 2013." (taken from Wiki)

    25 May 2013 Reply
  • iPrincey

    What? New album?

    27 Apr 2013 Reply
  • BrigidGH

    So excited they're touring/recording again. It's been so long! :D

    20 Apr 2013 Reply
  • henricorzr

    am I the only one that enjoys more the male vocals? I mean, " We Intertwined" is so damn cool.

    9 Mar 2013 Reply
  • itschinatown

    Ugh eight days. Cannot wait.

    27 Feb 2013 Reply
  • pondrafi

    can't wait for the new album..

    25 Feb 2013 Reply
  • All 1171 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners