Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Ruby Throat


Everyone’s tags

More tags


(2006 – present)

Ruby Throat are a duo consisting of KatieJane Garside (of Queen Adreena, and formerly Daisy Chainsaw), and Chris Whittingham. They formed in 2006 when Garside discovered Whittingham busking on the London underground. Their music recalls the etherealness and fragility of english folk music and the deepest black heart of gothic americana.

Ruby Throat’s debut album The Ventriloquist was released on 8th November 2007 in a limited run of only 500 copies. These consisted of books bound from vintage Indian red leather, with the CD in a cloth pocket in the back of the book. Another limited edition version of 400 copies was released on 16th January 2008, this time in a regular jewel case and a 4-panel CD booklet, featuring pinhole photography by Chris Whittingham.

The commercial release of The Ventriloquist came out on 1st September 2008 with new songs “Consuela’s Newt” and “Boat song” added to the tracklisting. “House of Thieves” was released as a digital single on 1st October 2008, backed with new b-side “He Doesn’t Love You”.

A second album Out of A Black Cloud Came A Bird was released in November 2009 and was again limited to 500 numbered copies, including 10 fine art prints, 5 photographs and a personal effect.

The standard gatefold version is now also available on the official Katie Jane Garside website.

Official website:


Top Albums

Listening Trend

9,078listeners all time
281,614scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • MatthewJocelyn

    Thank you Strummer88!

    5 Feb 9:38am Reply
  • Strummer88

    I don't know if everyone has already seen this but here is part of the email that i received from KJG:s mailing list "and some RUBY THROAT news: its been a while... so here we are, somewhere in nowhere, turning our little wheel of intention, the glass on the compass has cracked, you can find me in the hinges of creaking doors...meanwhile RUBY THROAT pick up their broken shells; and ask the wind to quiet down, 4th album 'BABY DARLING TAPORO' soon come, we can hear a thread of music in our hair..." So heads up everyone!

    30 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Carnecaliel

    Secret fires-

    22 Jun 2014 Reply
  • iluminomi

    midget throat

    15 May 2014 Reply
  • nothingunusual

    Gorgeous new track from RT. 'Secret Fires' on The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project: Axels & Sockets. x

    9 May 2014 Reply
  • ernstkidal

    love you

    11 Feb 2014 Reply
  • scottdoesntknow

    "Try-hardy"? Do you mean, as in she's trying hard to be a musician? This chick's been around since before you were born, and that's the way her voice is naturally— listen to her speak in an interview.

    24 Sep 2013 Reply
  • anchorlight

    I wanted to love this but this strikes me as very tryhard-y. This is the kind of voice people use when they talk to babies and you can hear her mouth smacking in many of the tracks. I tried but good lord. Kinda wish I'd looked up a song or two before grabbing her entire discography and turned out hating it, but that's my own fault.

    3 Sep 2013 Reply
  • somnambulation

    I'm also selling a numbered limited edition cd package of 'Out of a Black Cloud Came a Bird'. it comes with some really pretty artwork by katie jane herself. (sorry for the spam) :)

    15 Aug 2013 Reply
  • somnambulation

    with regret I am having to sell my signed & numbered limited edition LP of 'The Ventriloquist'. if anyone is interested, you can find it on ebay here:

    15 Aug 2013 Reply
  • I_Feel_Insane

    Ventriloquist is a really good album. [x2]

    30 Apr 2013 Reply
  • HimitsuUK

    Nice.. very nice..

    31 Mar 2013 Reply
  • crownanchor

    Stupendous voice

    27 Sep 2012 Reply
  • sammerro

    Ventriloquist is a really good album.

    20 May 2012 Reply
  • anfecor


    16 Apr 2012 Reply
  • Musilov

    o' doubt o'stars is wonderful. I bought the lalleshwari cd in the same breath, but that one's a bit harsh for me - too confrontational with the nudity and stuff - not enough refined concerning the music. In fact, the lalleshwari cd is the least convincing of all her work. But O'DOUBT O'STARS is Katie Jane like we want her and like her. Well, i could do with a bit of QueenAdreena, especially live gigs would be a treasure.

    12 Apr 2012 Reply
  • maraleopard

    what? there's a new album? katiejane is alive?! BEST NEWS EVER. & here i was, excited that i could finally listen to something of ruby throat on spotify.

    16 Mar 2012 Reply
  • MothTouch

    I'm not sure there are any lyrics as such. That is to say the vocal part is typical of those in other songs which have no annotation, whereupon a more solid lyric is sung and indeed noted by KatieJane. Despite any consistency between recording and performance the lyrics in question do not appear "canon" for want of a better term.

    10 Mar 2012 Reply
  • SodaDreamerr

    oh, it's a pity. i want find out poetry for this song since i saw le batofar gig on youtube

    1 Mar 2012 Reply
  • pagliacciclown

    @SodaDreamerr-- No lyrics in the booklet for that song, just the song title.

    1 Mar 2012 Reply
  • All 155 shouts

Top Listeners