Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Denmark (1994 - )

Raunchy was founded in Denmark, in 1992 by Jesper Tilsted, Jesper Kvist, and Morten Toft Hansen, who start jamming, playing mostly cover from bands like Metallica and Slayer. Lars Vognstrup and Lars Christensen join in 1994, and in 1995 they record their first demo, at Borsing Recordings in Århus. The song “Space Story” from the demo is later released on the compilation CD Extremity Rising vol. 1, a rock compilation from Serious Entertainment. Two demos (and two more Extremity Rising inclusions later) the band finally get their record deal, with Mighty Music’s sub label Drug(s) in 2000. A few months later Raunchy enters the Aabenraa Studio with producer Jacob Hansen to record Velvet Noise. In 2001 the album is released in Scandinavia and is very received by the press. After the release Jeppe Christensen joins the band.

2002 proves to be a crucial year for the band: as the first Danish band ever Raunchy signs a contract with one of the world biggest metal labels, Nuclear Blast Records, who release Velvet Noise is released in Europe. Raunchy plays at the German festival Summerbreeze. They record a cover of Wham!’s “Last Christmas” and a new song called “Decemberklar” for Denmark’s National radio, produced by Tue Madsen at Antfarm Studios. The songs prove to be very popular. Raunchy also performs live in the radio-studio; the performance is taped by Danish Television and broadcast as well. In 2003 the Velvet Noise is released in North America, and in the summer the second album, Confusion Bay, is recorded, again with producer Jacob Hansen.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

87,969listeners all time
3,198,906scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • apujols

    Eyes of a Storm is the opening track on the album and somewhat reminds me of a heavier Dim the Lights and Run. As for Digital Dreamer, it's fucking awesome. Really doesn't remind me of any other track they've ever done. It's fucking heavy, but also has the trademark Raunchy chorus. The new album is definitely going to surprise us.

    Yesterday 11:22pm Reply
  • apujols

    Guys I have no idea how long this link will be up. but: 1:17:08 = Eyes of a Storm, and 1:26:31 = Digital Dreamer!/

    Yesterday 11:17pm Reply
  • Insomnia-fm

    Just heard Eyes of a Storm and Digital Dreamer - the latter blew me away! Very Interesting things going on there! Not yet sure how I feel about the new sound though. The ambient feel is definitely welcome in a nostalgic Velvet Noise / Confusion Bay way, but Mike's vocals... awesome as he may growl and sing i'm affraid he becomes too American and therefore somewhat bland in sound. Well it might just have to grow on me - really looking forward to the rest of the album.

    Yesterday 7:56pm Reply
  • Send-No-Flowers

    Awesome. As usual.

    16 Oct 10:41am Reply
  • BiggArt

    Truth Taker is f*cking amazing!

    15 Oct 8:23pm Reply
  • apujols

    It's a little different than what I expected but I like it. Mike's cleans in the pre-chorus and Jeppe in the chorus is pretty sweet.

    13 Oct 11:54am Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    holy SHIT, this sounds much heavier than usual.

    12 Oct 3:08pm Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    i can't tell whether you think that's a good thing or not. i mean, BTBAM can be okay and giles is most certainly the best part of the band (esp. obvious if you've seen them live as he is spot on in every way) but i dislike their general style. i'll take a listen soon.

    12 Oct 3:06pm Reply
  • apujols

    My first thoughts: Welcome Tommy Rogers to Raunchy.

    11 Oct 6:40pm Reply
  • apujols

    Brand new song right here called Truth Taker

    11 Oct 6:35pm Reply
  • apujols

    I kinda lost touch with the guys when myspace went down, unfortunately, but yeah; I definitely let the cat out of the bag on the album title a little early. Oops. That was the only scoop I had. I'm actually dying to know how the new album will sound. Will Mike handle all vocals? He's definitely able. Will the album be heavier? I'm expecting the lyrics to be much more serious than normal for Raunchy. I think we'll get a new song in the next week or two. Most excited I've been for an album in years.

    8 Oct 10:44pm Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    are you going to be lynched for revealing that? ;)

    3 Oct 12:45pm Reply
  • apujols

    Tracklist: 1. Eyes Of A Storm 2. Truth Taker 3. Digital Dreamer 4. Never Enough 5. The Castaway Crown 6. Anasthesia Throne 7. Luxuria 8. I, Avarice (Guest solo by Flemming C. Lund of The Arcane Order/Invocator) 9. Frozen Earth 10. Clarity 11. The Singularity Heart

    30 Sep 1:22pm Reply
  • apujols

    For some reason everything about the new album is being kept under wraps, but I can tell you it will be called Vices. Virtues. Visions. and it will be released on November 14, 2014

    26 Sep 11:01am Reply
  • Erondondon

    Первый раз услышал на монстрах метала Watch Out

    25 Sep 1:24pm Reply
  • -Untamed-

    Just saw Mike with his other band, Intervals. Holy shit, are we in for a treat!

    25 Sep 5:35am Reply
  • apujols

    It has been awfully quiet for a band that's about to release a new album in 6 weeks.

    10 Sep 6:35pm Reply
  • ryujijitei

    I've been checking their Facebook every day, October can't come soon enough. It's going to be a crazy month.

    27 Aug 4:44am Reply
  • SunNeverDies

    Band on fire. Very interesting music.

    22 Jul 2:38pm Reply
  • Carpe4Diem

    Кончаю от Nght Prty

    23 May 2:31pm Reply
  • All 1469 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners