Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles CA, United States (1988 – present)

Pennywise was formed in 1988 in Hermosa Beach, California by four members Jim Lindberg (vocals), Fletcher Dragge (guitar), Byron McMackin (drums) and Jason Thirsk (bass). They released two EPs: A Word from the Wise (1989) and Wildcard (1989). Each of the band members had played in other bands in the Hermosa Beach, California area and attended the same high school.

The group signed to Epitaph Records in 1990 and released their first album Pennywise (1991). The album quickly spread throughout the punk community, earning the band some nation-wide recognition. Lyrics in the album endorsed a positive mental attitude, helping promote progressive ideals for Generation X. Lindberg left the band soon after the debut record. Bass player Randy Bradbury joined the lineup as Thirsk took over lead vocal duties. In 1992, The Vandals lead singer Dave Quackenbush took over on vocals for a brief stint. Bradbury left the band and Thirsk returned to bass.

Lindberg got married and returned to the group in 1992 in time for their second album Unknown Road (1993), an underground hit that established the band as a force in punk music. By 1995, punk bands The Offspring and Rancid hit the mainstream and Pennywise refused invitations to join several major labels. About Time (1995) was another indie hit.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

615,015listeners all time
16,445,687scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • GodofDeathMetal

    Did they ever tour with NOFX?

    27 Dec 2014 Reply
  • bloody72

    pozdrowienia ze Śląska dla fanów Pennywise

    17 Nov 2014 Reply

    ...or they're probably just too old to /punk/

    30 Oct 2014 Reply

    I was STOKED for the return of Jim. All Or Nothing musically, and production-wise was the closest thing to the "Pennywise" style since Straight Ahead-- except with a very different voice of Zoli (but good). So my expectations for Yesterdays was similar to All Or Nothing but with Jim singing. Instead, Pennywise delivers their most lackluster, dull, half-hearted album ever. It sounds like a bunch of B-Sides from the From The Ashes album (which IMO is their worst). The production sounds like the treble was rolled off at about 4K, no bite in the guitar, kick drum sounds like a couch pillow. Don't believe me? Listen to the original version of Slow Down (secret song on Unknown Road) then the remake on this album for a great example of the lifeless sound, and lack of energy.

    27 Oct 2014 Reply
  • FlorioWork

    Yup Zoli's album was their best since Land Of The Free. New one with Jim is boring.

    12 Oct 2014 Reply
  • markvonucci


    17 Sep 2014 Reply
  • DivinityWithin7

    All or Nothing was great, new album was disappointing. I like Jims vocals but Zoli gave Pennywise a breath of fresh air.

    6 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Sevenfold-

    Best band in the world.

    4 Sep 2014 Reply
  • AHFall

    "the fuse" is their best album imo.

    9 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Chezus666

    Here's a review to their new record "Yesterdays":

    5 Aug 2014 Reply
  • ACA1985

    Setlist, photographs, and some video clips from the Stone Pony show are here:

    4 Aug 2014 Reply
  • FuckerDance

    Jason Mathew Thirsk this one is for you! (19)

    2 Aug 2014 Reply
  • alansb

    Parabéns,vocês são os melhores.. JIm sempre comandou muito bem a banda, sem ele o Pw ñ existe!! Obrigado por torna nossas vidas mais alegres. #JIm O melhor

    26 Jul 2014 Reply
  • ricardohrr

    happy to see jim leading the band again but the new record is not too good, i know pennywise has created new songs to revive the roots of the band but i think it's not time for that, but i have hope in pennywise and i will consider ''yesterdays'' a celebrate record for the past of the band

    16 Jul 2014 Reply
  • -Narayan-


    30 Jun 2014 Reply
  • FlorioWork

    All Or Nothing blows way this new song, sorry. I been a fan for almost 20 years and Zoli lit a fire in their song writing. Jim sounds like shit on the new song.

    5 Jun 2014 Reply
  • jp-bam

    new old pennywise song :)

    2 Jun 2014 Reply

    The All or Nothing album with Zoli singing was actually pretty good, musically had Pennywise sounding more like their roots. However, Jim is the undisputed voice for Pennywise. I'd love for them to re-release that album with Jim re-recording the vocals.

    30 May 2014 Reply
  • uno8528

    great band

    10 May 2014 Reply

    Jason Mathew Thirsk this one is for you! [18]

    30 Apr 2014 Reply
  • All 1039 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners