Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Omega Massif


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Würzburg, Germany (2005 – 2014)

Omega Massif was an instrumental band from Würzburg, Germany and were formed in 2005 by Andreas Schmittfull (guitar), Michael Melchers (guitar), Boris Bilic (bass guitar) and Christof Rath (drums). They recorded their demo “Kalt” in 2005 and began playing shows with bands like Knut, Taint and Tephra among others.

In 2007, Omega Massif released their first full-length album “Geisterstadt” (which means “Ghost Town” in German). The album weaves a tale of ancient abandoned silver mines, treks through deep mountain tunnels, and forsaken boom towns illustrated through Omega Massif’s massive instrumental post-metal. The vocaless nature of the music turns the focus on pure atmosphere, and Omega Massif deliver, layering the pulverizing repetitive metalchug with a sense of gloom and longing that becomes near-suffocating at times, but there are also lots of gorgeous ethereal melodies throughout.

Omega Massif disbanded in 2014.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

40,860listeners all time
774,192scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • bloody72

    pozdrowienia ze Śląska dla fanów Omega Massif

    13 Apr 6:07pm Reply
  • VirginGrey

    Hey, friends! Nice stuff here! I will definitely appreciate if you check out my band Nebulae Come Sweet (post-metal from Minsk, Belarus) and take a listen to “O”, a new song from our upcoming album! You can listen it online or download it for free here:

    11 Apr 8:13pm Reply
  • AnestheticDepth


    22 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Nerozette

    Aaand here you go, their last song, a cover of Godflesh's Don't Bring Me Flowers:

    19 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Dream-core

    Unter null...

    19 Oct 2014 Reply
  • crazysharky666

    Shame that I'll never be able to see them live, absolutely amazing stuff they have made.

    15 Oct 2014 Reply
  • Toodesmanu

    nebelwand, unglaublich geiles song, hängt nur leider bei mir bei 8:50 ca. :(

    9 Oct 2014 Reply
  • CloudGer

    Very sad news. I will never forget these two concerts in Berlin: The one during that grim winter, a completely overcrowded small bar, the band almost coming to late due to a snowstorm, several strings broke, and still it was perfect. The second one where there was a blackout before the last song, complete darkness before they rose to prove that instrumental music can be political (indem sie "Unter Null" anlässlich der anstehenden Wahl der FDP gewidmet haben). I will never forget how perfect this band was live, how intense, as heavy as a mountain.

    27 Sep 2014 Reply
  • M3tthew

    19 Sep 2014 Reply
  • epicraid

    Ach nö -.-

    28 Jul 2014 Reply
  • passtimepoet

    They just cancelled their two final shows. Fuck this. Fuck everything.

    20 Jul 2014 Reply
  • EternalRain27

    FUCKING FUCK MAN. SO disappointing <:(((. Basically my favourite band I've heard in years. And... Black metal?... are you...

    18 Jul 2014 Reply
  • LetJesusFuckYou

    :( schade . ..

    3 Jul 2014 Reply
  • DrMcCoy

    Oh, what the fuck, they split up? :'(

    2 Jul 2014 Reply
  • DarkScimitar

    Well this blows. I was looking forward to a new album from these guys.

    10 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Lucyfier

    They was supposed to come at Paris a few weeks ago, but the show was cancelled and postponed to another date... and this news, well, killed me in all ways. Good job Omega Massif to make people sad and frustrated.

    1 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Proffy_45


    1 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Schattengang


    31 May 2014 Reply
  • ShapelessPain

    When I saw this it completely ruined my weekend before it even began. It feels like Men In Search Of The Perfect Weapon all over again...

    31 May 2014 Reply
  • Verderber

    Not cool. Not cool at all. Hopefully a band like UR will carry that torch onward now - one of the very few bands I've seen that are up to the task.

    31 May 2014 Reply
  • All 486 shouts

Top Listeners