Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Mumford & Sons


Everyone’s tags

More tags


London, United Kingdom (2007 – present)

Mumford & Sons are an / group formed in London in December2007. The band consists of Marcus Mumford (lead vocals, guitar, bass drum), Country Winston (banjo, slide guitar, vocals), Ted Dwane (double bass, drums, vocals), and Ben Lovett (keyboards, accordion, vocals).

Having received critical acclaim from The Guardian on their “Band of the Day” online forum, and resounding praise from nearly everyone who has witnessed them supporting The Maccabees and Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons continue to turn heads in London’s growing folk scene.

Their debut EP, Lend Me Your Eyes, features four tracks, including lead single “Roll away Your Stone”. Chess Club released their second EP, “Love Your Ground”, on the 3rd November 2009 on 10inch vinyl. The third EP, “The Cave and the Open Sea” (which was limited to 500 vinyls) is available as a download from their official rawrip page. Their debut album Sigh No More was released on Gentlemen of the Road/Island Records on the 5th October 2009, and the first single “Little Lion Man” came out a week earlier.

Several months after the release of Little Lion Man, it was voted #1 by listeners in the Australian Youth Radio station Triple J’s Hottest 100 for 2009. They played live in the Triple J studio on the countdown day to celebrate the result. In the summer of 2010, “Little Lion Man” peaked at #1 on the Billboard Alternative Songs chart and #45 on the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States. “The Cave” peaked at #3 on the Billboard Alternative Songs chart and #27 on the Billboard Hot 100. Both singles have gone Platinum in the United States.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

1,544,097listeners all time
77,991,146scrobbles all time
#20 in last week’s chart
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • ronybozoglian


    1 hour ago Reply

    Snake Eyes is awesome!

    21 Apr 5:19pm Reply
  • JohnCRF

    Believe is great, the wolf is beautiful and Snake Eyes is AMAZING. I loved all the new songs released, it's great to see this change but without losing the "mumford style" in their songs, even without the banjo. I hope this album comes as great as the other ones, and change, when well executed, is always welcome. People need to stop complaining about the banjo, I miss it too, but I'm happy with the new style and let's hope one day they come back to the banjo.

    20 Apr 3:59pm Reply
  • Cheeky_is_back

    The first two new songs were kind of ok, but damn, Snake Eyes sounds REALLY promising.

    20 Apr 11:41am Reply
  • jessyrocker

    Love this Music

    18 Apr 1:37pm Reply
  • meninoestranho

    Where is the banjo? [4]

    16 Apr 5:45pm Reply
  • JackLidge

    With both of their new songs, I originally didn't like them but the more I've listened to them the more I've liked them. If this carries on, the album is gonna take an awful lot of listening to!

    16 Apr 12:09am Reply
  • rebelloth

    nope, everything is not alright. Mumford & Sons has an identity and they are giving it up for something utterly generic. I respect other's tastes as long as they don't say that it's all something made up in the heads of the people that are just not obliged to think as they do.

    15 Apr 11:25pm Reply
  • HectorTB

    I love everything about them <3 Believe ❤️ [15]

    15 Apr 4:30am Reply
  • Hotton5

    So disappointed with their new songs.

    13 Apr 7:35pm Reply
  • SSBN623

    how feeble are the minds . . . that squander thought makin' lies ! thanx JMS

    13 Apr 3:49pm Reply
  • noMATterjustMAT

    I dont need a Banjo in "The Wolf". Great Song.

    13 Apr 10:12am Reply
  • PCNoan

    Mumford & Sons: A Bob Dylan moment as they drop their distinctive acoustic sound.

    12 Apr 5:46pm Reply
  • jessyrocker

    Just Great

    12 Apr 1:39pm Reply
  • asiorus

    Believe sounds like Coldplay, The Wolf sounds like The Strokes. Where are Mumfords in all of this?

    10 Apr 5:43pm Reply
  • lilwaynegretzky

    Really like The Wolf. It makes me want to give Believe more of a chance.

    10 Apr 2:18am Reply
  • Busiaaq

    Where is the banjo? [3]

    9 Apr 11:01pm Reply
  • Mischa1992

    This album sounds like Coldplay 2.0. Sigh No More is what got me into M&S, Babel kept me but this album i will not buy.

    9 Apr 10:15pm Reply
  • Andr3a89

    I feel sorry for all the people that were expecting a whole discography with similiar tunes.

    9 Apr 7:16pm Reply
  • jurubebas

    I really enjoyed The Wolf, tho.

    9 Apr 6:57pm Reply
  • All 4407 shouts