Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Mors Principium Est


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Pori, Finland (1999 – present)

Mors Principium Est is a melodic death metal band from Pori, Finland.

In the beginning, back in the year 1999 in Pori, Finland, Mors Principium Est was established by the three founding members Jori, Jarkko and Toni. Percussion instruments were missing, but later in the same year Mikko joined the band to play the drums. Jori was playing lead guitar and vocals, Jarkko guitar and Toni keyboards. The band played for a while with this set, but in the beginning of year 2000 Jori got tired of singing and wanted to concentrate only in guitar. A new singer was thus needed. Meanwhile Ville Viljanen had just left his old band and was looking for something new. He contacted the band and after an audition he became the new vocalist.

The first demo was made without a bass-player, and when Listenable Records expressed interest in the band, it became neccessary to find someone able to fulfill that role. In the year 2001 Teemu joined the band as the bass-player. Two more demos and few gigs were made and finally the hard work got rewarded. 2002 Listenable Records offered contract and the band signed a contract for 3 albums.

The debut album “Inhumanity” was recorded & mixed by Ahti Kortelainen in Finland at Tico-Tico Studios, in December 2002 and mastered at Finnvox Studios, in January 2003. Album was released at spring 2003.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

89,250listeners all time
4,230,021scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • wandy-kalmah

    muito boa!!

    27 Jan 8:35am Reply
  • spineshank155

    God Has Fallen!! Favorite track off the new album :).

    17 Jan 6:29pm Reply
  • mktucker41

    Holy shit can't believe I just discovered this band!

    17 Jan 3:15am Reply
  • Lost_Souls_UK

    The new album is probably the best classic sounding melodeath of 2014, but the style sounds a bit dated nonetheless compared to some of the melodic-edged tech-death that came out last year (like Black Crown Initiate for example).

    7 Jan 11:10am Reply
  • Mistick_


    6 Jan 7:44am Reply
  • kezir

    New album is good!

    4 Jan 5:52pm Reply
  • Cabrasevera


    3 Jan 9:29pm Reply
  • ex3eZ


    2 Jan 10:21pm Reply
  • Mari_Jasmine


    20 Dec 2014 Reply
  • haadeus

    vitun kantakuppilan-karaokehevi-vibat yhestä biisistä, taidan mennä suihkuun itkemään.

    16 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Sergio_Bv

    Excellent new album. The best of 2014.

    12 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Kuumaliimamies_

    One of the very few bands that fail to produce anything bad, also the "studio diaries" were rather hilarious to watch :)

    11 Dec 2014 Reply
  • ManOfMuchMetal

    Check out my full, in-depth thoughts on the excellent new Mors Principium Est album, 'Dawn Of The 5th Era'.

    7 Dec 2014 Reply
  • xxAEON

    I've been listening to Dawn Of The 5th Era since yesterday! Pretty strong riffs. Ville's vocals are great as always. ♥ I'm loving it. :D

    6 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Meat_Wolf

    I'd say it's yet another solid offering from MPE. Nothing stellar but nothing terrible as well. And there surely are some great highlights like We Are the Sleep or Wrath of Indra. Also they fixed the compressed production of the previous album which is also a good thing.

    6 Dec 2014 Reply
  • TheLastJihad

    Sounds like mikael stanne did a little guest vocals in The Forsaken at the 3:50 mark

    4 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Vicarious_Lord

    As far as this band and this year is concerned, DotFE is going to be difficult to top.

    3 Dec 2014 Reply
  • adamagedone

    After multiple listens I would rate this album a 5/10. There are many good ideas but they get watered down in a pool of mediocrity. Overall it lacks a clear emotional presence and kick, plus most of the vocal lines are way too weak to really stick.

    29 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Morgan-Le-Faye

    Great new album!!!

    29 Nov 2014 Reply
  • SarahSelas

    flawless new album!

    28 Nov 2014 Reply
  • All 1008 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners