Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Oulu, Finland (1998 – present)

Kalmah is a melodic death metal band from Oulu, Finland that formed in 1998. In less than a year after its formation, Kalmah was signed by Spinefarm Records. The word “kalmah” is Karelian and could be translated as “to the grave” or “to the death.”

In the fall of 2000, the band recorded its debut album for the label at Tico-Tico studios, a favourite of fellow countrymen Sentenced and Impaled Nazarene. The result “Swamplord” is an aggressive, twin guitar solo-based album whose atmosphere is often heightened by ethereal keyboards. Century Media Records picked up “Swamplord” for North American distribution, and the record was released in 2001. Afterwards, Kalmah released “They Will Return” (2002), “Swampsong” (2003) and “The Black Waltz” (2006).

The Black Waltz” is noticeably different when compared to the band’s previous albums. The vocals are much deeper (more growling) and the music seems more influenced by the Gothenburg style.

Kalmah released their fifth album in April 2nd, 2008 under the title “For the Revolution”. The newest, and sixth album, titled “12 Gauge”, was released on February 24th, 2010.

Current Lineup
Pekka Kokko - Guitar, Vocals
Antti Kokko - Lead Guitar (ex-Eternal Tears of Sorrow, ex-Remains)
Janne Kusmin - Drums (ex-Catamenia, ex-Dope Tribe Devils, Mental Voice, ex-Soulhammer, Wrathage)


Top Albums

Listening Trend

222,405listeners all time
10,325,035scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • dAziks

    Every time I listen to Kalmah, I wonder, why they aren't as big as Children of Bodom.

    21 Jul 7:55am Reply
  • wormvortex

    My favourite band out that. Album after album of increcible melodic death metal.

    28 Jun 6:43pm Reply
  • Gitarrenkloppi

    If you like technical Death Metal, check Spreading Miasma from Germany:

    19 Jun 9:18am Reply
  • KarolinaDeath

    Awesome ♥

    16 Jun 1:13pm Reply
  • versionfiv

    maybe for you dvoid... i will stick with swamplord and for the revolution thank you very much. the other albums just have 3 or 4 nice songs, not all together awesome the whole way through like the two i mentioned.

    6 Jun 7:59pm Reply
  • arrobafaustao

    Ô loco meu, sugiram correção: Calma

    2 Jun 12:55am Reply
  • trueCANCER

    Seventh Swamphony ★★★★★

    26 May 4:42pm Reply
  • FjordSweetFjord

    their last four records are brilliant! Love their early work, but man...they do no rest on their laurels at all!

    17 May 12:59am Reply
  • M0rbidBoy

    One of the few bands that never disappoint!

    16 May 1:39pm Reply
  • PaysageDVoid

    new album kicks ass... just needs a few plays before judging it...

    1 May 7:01pm Reply
  • omar310

    this is a new melodic death metal band, like the page and show support.

    26 Apr 5:02pm Reply
  • Muinaiset

    Wolves on the throne and Hollo are the only songs that stick out to me really. Hollo was an unexpected surprise for me.

    20 Apr 7:11pm Reply
  • spineshank155

    I thought Hollo was pretty meh but it wasn't all bad. Your right alchemist_os, but as i said SS is my least favorite album, it wasn't bad i mean i listened to the album like 50x already, it has some great tracks but overall some songs are pretty skippable imo.

    20 Apr 3:59pm Reply
  • Muinaiset

    Hollo is probably my favorite from Seventh Swamphony. Wolves on the Throne and the Self Titled are good as well.

    5 Apr 11:24am Reply
  • alchemist_os

    @spineshank155: It sounds to me like an attempt to mix the sound of the first three with the last three. High pitched vocals are back to an extent, and keyboards are playing a more prominent role.

    4 Apr 9:12am Reply
  • OLZ80

    слишком много от хеви, пощай Kalmah

    31 Mar 8:28pm Reply
  • spineshank155

    With listening to SS over 58x i can't really say that it's a passable album, but i don't think it's one of the best and it's quite low on the list. It is true most of the new stuff isn't that good, i always thought that SS was a questionable album. For me personally, i don't even think the album track is any better then their previous efforts. It wasn't disappointing, i was more pumped that Kalmah was releasing new material then the songs themselves, but in the end there wasn't anything spectacular about the album.

    13 Mar 5:24pm Reply
  • stephanielvern

    Awesomeeeeeeeeeeeee \m/

    10 Mar 3:52pm Reply
  • bassius

    i was pumped when i heard the title track (which is one of their best songs ever) but yea like you said, the rest is passable but i haven't busted out SS in months and kind of just forgot about it.

    10 Mar 6:24am Reply
  • versionfiv

    this time they didn't really do anything new that was interesting or improved on what they had done before[2] we got 1 good song, the title track, at least.

    4 Mar 7:11pm Reply
  • All 3112 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners

Email Newsletter

Universal Music Group Get exclusive tour, release & promotion updates on Kalmah from Universal Music.