Universal Music India Ltd.
Release date
22 Sep 2011
Running length
3 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Sad But True (@Live Earth) 5:53 64
2 Nothing Else Matters (@Live Earth) 6:41 166
3 Enter Sandman (@Live Earth) 6:21 53

About this album

Metallica (also known as The Black Album) is the fifth studio album by the American heavy metal band Metallica, released August 12, 1991 through Elektra Records. It features some of Metallica’s most popular songs, “Enter Sandman”, “The Unforgiven”, “Nothing Else Matters” , “Wherever I May Roam” and “Sad but True”. It spent four consecutive weeks at number one on Billboard 200. Metallica is the band’s best-selling album to date, with over 15 million copies sold in the United States and over 22 million copies worldwide. It is the best-selling album of the SoundScan era.

The album cover features only the band’s logo, angled against the upper left corner, and a coiled snake (derived from the Gadsden flag) on the bottom right corner, both in a dark shade of gray in order to be made out against the black background. The motto of the Gadsden flag, “Don’t Tread on Me”, is also the title of a song featured on the album.

The cover is very reminiscent of Spinal Tap’s Smell the Glove album, something the band jokingly acknowledged themselves in their A Year and a Half in the Life of Metallica documentary (where members of Spinal Tap appeared and asked them about it).

Metallica DVD-Audio 5.1 mix was released in 2004 through Elektra Records.

While the album and the band were critically praised and commercially successful, some fans expressed disappointment in the new direction taken by Metallica. Gone for the most part were faster staccato riffs during verses and throaty vocals found on the band’s first four albums; the overall speed and complexity of the music was somewhat lessened.

Other releases

Listening Trend

849,705listeners all time
18,225,649scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Scstechr

    what happened with the tracklist????

    11 hours ago Reply
  • versionfiv

    how can people get so outraged and post comments online about said outrage due to a few random strangers on the internets' personal opinions about a music record, whether those opinions are legitimate or not?

    10 Aug 12:52pm Reply
  • SweetsInBlood

    Not as good as Ride the Lightning or Master of Puppets but still a good album.

    25 Jul 10:08am Reply
  • xDx3xPx


    17 May 2:35am Reply
  • xDx3xPx


    17 May 2:35am Reply

    why 3 songs???????

    11 May 5:25pm Reply
  • Grycho

    Disgustingly underrated by elitists like some of the twats below me. Not as well-composed as their previous albums, certainly... but to just call it a straight-up BAD ALBUM and leave it at that? Fucking seriously? How can people be so narrow-minded?

    10 May 5:58am Reply
  • OcellatedGod

    Bubblegum pop garbage.

    16 Apr 12:52am Reply
  • kashmirowy_sok

    Kids are crying becouse for them band has to play the same shit all over again for 40 years ripping off themselves and keep being heavy as fuck cause ballads suck :(

    2 Apr 2:29pm Reply
  • kashmirowy_sok

    This isnt hard metal its HEAVY ROCK

    2 Apr 2:28pm Reply
  • FrameBuster

    Someone should fix the tracklist.

    14 Mar 8:45am Reply
  • MegaDave89

    Sad But True is the best song from METALLICAs selftitled album END OF STORY!

    20 Feb 7:05pm Reply
  • hadomaru

    This isn't hard rock bro. It's Heavy Metal.

    15 Jan 8:28pm Reply

    This album is good, in relative terms to other Hard Rock bands. This album is horrible (along with every succeeding album) in relative terms to Metallica's first 4 Thrash Metal Masterpieces. Some say its their last good album. I say its their first bad album. To each their own I suppose. Holier than Thou and Of Wolf and Man are the only songs I like on this album. While I will give credit to Metallica that they make better Hard Rock than other bands in the genre, I do not want to hear Hard Rock from Metallica. I want to hear Thrash Metal. At least Testament and Exodus are still making quality thrashing albums.

    13 Jan 11:35pm Reply
  • Jahred15

    How isn't this metal?

    13 Jan 4:48am Reply
  • jpzitoleopold

    The first half is good, the other is shit

    23 Dec 2013 Reply
  • MegaDave89

    Now i listen on this album, i like somehow, the first half is 4,5/5 after Of Wolf A Man 3/5

    23 Nov 2013 Reply
  • KrossPoison

    Good album, stop crying children.

    10 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Razors15

    This album is suck. It doesn't have thrash-ballad song like One, doesn't have kick ass solo, doesn't have thrashy sound and not much different with Load and St. Anger. Death Magnetic is better ! Why? because Metallica turns commercial Rating for this album 4.5/10

    9 Nov 2013 Reply
  • dAdriano


    29 Oct 2013 Reply
  • All 709 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners