Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Life Without Buildings


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Glasgow, United Kingdom (1999 – 2002)

Formed in 1999 in Glasgow, Scotland by Sue Tompkins (vocals), Will Bradley (drums), Chris Evans (bass) and Robert Johnston (guitar). They split in 2002.

Released in March 2000, “The Leanover” b/w “New Town” secured the band a full deal with the label. The band released two more singles on the label. The band’s debut, Any Other City, recorded by Scottish producer Andy Miller, was released in 2001 in the UK; DCBaltimore 2012 issued it months later in the United States. In May 2007 a live album was released in Europe called Live at the Annandale Hotel on the Gargleblast Records label. The album has subsequently been released in North America on Absolutely Kosher Records in August 2007. Impressed after their first London gig, the Rough Trade-affiliated Tugboat label asked the band to record a debut single on the label.

The band broke up in 2002 for unknown reasons. Despite the fact that they existed for only three years, Life Without Buildings has developed a strong underground following, with their only LP Any Other City widely admired in many critical circles.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

38,191listeners all time
691,502scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Nimbie

    I really don't get why LWB seems to only get associated with post-punk while links to emo bands such as moss icon or the van pelt are entirely neglected [2]

    31 Jan 1:27pm Reply
  • pointpleasant

    where are all the shouts at? you need to listen to this, people.

    8 Nov 2014 Reply
  • pointpleasant

    this is one of like two bands in existence that can make me cry. most of everything else pales in comparison.

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • pointpleasant

    LWB lyfe.

    8 Sep 2014 Reply
  • deemush

    Yea they sounds exactly like The Van Pelt and old school emo in general. What makes different with LWB is the accent. Glad finally I found a hidden gem here

    4 Jul 2014 Reply
  • unduetre

    johnny-mnemonic you're right. reviewers always underrate the midwest emo/van pelt/ etc influences of this band

    24 May 2014 Reply
  • ugandan

    I just found this album thanks to NME running a 101 records to hear before you die thing. So glad I read it for this record alone. WOW is all I have to say. Amazing and can't believe I didn't get on this sooner.

    19 May 2014 Reply
  • mordwyr

    Good stuff. I was blown away by Sorrow. Very nice and unexpected!

    9 May 2014 Reply
  • pointpleasant

    holy shit

    4 May 2014 Reply
  • johnny-mnemonic

    I really don't get why LWB seems to only get associated with post-punk while links to emo bands which cultivated this kind of dynamic speak-singing already earlier (and not less successful) such as moss icon or the van pelt are entirely neglected ... similar can be said for the sweet and explosive instrumentation which partially seems like directly from the rule-book of 90ies melodic emo ... LWB are great and all, but there seems to be a blind-spot in their reception

    28 Apr 2014 Reply
  • R-Mac

    pitchfork resuscitation, fools.

    18 Apr 2014 Reply
  • peter88823

    This band is CRIMINALLY and BRUTALLY under-rated!

    22 Mar 2014 Reply
  • Detective_Kane

    yeah, the right stuff

    15 Feb 2014 Reply
  • kenhomme

    Sorely missed x

    25 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Momotucker

    Second coming of Lizzy Descloux

    12 Jul 2013 Reply
  • crimsonmaestro

    "this could be a midwest emo band in 1994" holy shit you're right

    7 Feb 2013 Reply

    годно, но истерично немного, к сожалению

    20 Jan 2013 Reply
  • lolcatloldog

    this could be a midwest emo band in 1994. if not for the accent

    25 May 2012 Reply
  • megajosh2

    Only indie rock bands make such inane phrases their band names.

    5 May 2012 Reply
  • ruddyp

    take me to the kino again

    11 Mar 2012 Reply
  • All 161 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners