Larger Than Life

Release date
27 Mar 1989
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Real Love 4:24 23,797
2 Friends 4:31 8,212
3 Everything 4:16 14,758
4 What 'Cha Gonna Do For Me 4:10 616
5 L.O.V.E.R. 4:51 827
6 For Love's Sake 5:26 684
7 Lifestyle 4:13 520
8 Precious Love 4:46 771
9 Something New 4:19 389
10 Once You Leave 4:00 518
11 Come Into My Life 5:34 415
12 Only You 3:53 505
13 Real Love (12'' Extended Version) 7:06 12

About this album

In the spring of 1989, Watley released her second album, Larger than Life, co-writing eleven of the album’s twelve songs. The album sold over four million copies worldwide, reaching #16 on the Billboard Top 200 Album Chart, and produced four singles: “Real Love” (US #2, #1 R&B, #2 Dance, UK #31), a US gold single and her first top 40 UK single since “Looking for a New Love”; “Friends” featuring Eric B. & Rakim, (US #9, #3 R&B, #7 Dance, UK #21); and “Everything” (US #4, #3 R&B), her first ballad release. The album’s fourth and final single, “Precious Love”, was a minor hit, peaking at #87 in the US. “Friends” is notable for being the first multi-format hit single to include the formula of a Pop/R&B singer featuring a guest rapper with the custom full 16-bar verses and bridge concept, and distinguishable from the rap “Intro” by Melle Mel on Chaka Khan’s notable cover Prince single “I Feel For You”. The successful “Friends” formula would become a mainstay formula in commercial pop music and was added as a category at The Grammy’s under Grammy Award for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration in 2002.

During the summer of 1989, Watley’s “Real Love” video, directed by David Fincher, was nominated for seven MTV Video Music Awards including Breakthrough Video, Best Art Direction, Best Dance Video, and Best Female Video at the 1989 award show.

Other releases

Listening Trend

4,498listeners all time
23,209scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • BimboBoy

    Track 13 has the wrong tag. The correct is: Real Love (Extended Version)

    10 Jun 2012 Reply
  • discotequedude

    "Larger Than Life" is a solid sophomore album! This Platinum selling album is fabulous!

    13 Jul 2010 Reply

Top Listeners