One Little Indian Records
Release date
2 Mar 2009
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Hidden Place 5:29 306,383
2 Cocoon 4:28 191,031
3 It's Not Up to You 5:09 177,259
4 Undo 5:39 174,534
5 Pagan Poetry 5:15 344,868
6 Frosti 1:41 182,429
7 Aurora 4:40 176,570
8 An Echo a Stain 4:05 45,893
9 Sun in My Mouth 2:40 149,913
10 Heirloom 5:12 123,744
11 Harm of Will 4:37 149,460
12 Unison 6:48 155,782

About this album

Vespertine, released in August 2001, is an album by the Icelandic singer/songwriter/musician Björk. It sees Björk creating an introverted, quiet world of swirling microbeats and personal lyrics. On the cover she can be seen wearing the swan dress (designed by Marjan Pejoski) that caused a stir at the 2001 Academy Awards.
Björk uses an array of sampled objects to create beats and soundscapes in a number of songs on Vespertine, including shuffling cards on “Cocoon” and “Hidden Place”; snow being walked upon on “Frosti”, and ice being cracked and smashed on “Aurora”.

Vespertine is Björk’s longest album, at 55:33 (apart from compilations).

“Hidden Place”, “Pagan Poetry” and “Cocoon” were released as singles from the album. A rumoured fourth single, “It’s Not Up to You”, never made it to release, presumably because of the birth of Björk’s daughter Isadora.

The lyrics to “An Echo, A Stain” are taken from Sarah Kane’s play Crave.

The lyrics of “Harm of Will” were written by Harmony Korine and are about Will Oldham.

The last track on the album, “Unison,” uses a sample of St Paul’s Cathedral Choir singing a segment of Patrick Gowers’s Viri Galilaei recorded in 1994.

Other releases

Listening Trend

321,973listeners all time
8,082,464scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • nalepiak

    Naj-b-j zimowa płyta świata,której tradycyjnie słucham (a teraz słuchamy razem z moją niewiastą) zawsze z dniem,kiedy po raz 1wszy w danym sezonie spadnie śnieg.

    29 Dec 2014 Reply
  • violettte1

    I feel like I would not be alive if it weren't for this flawlessly gentle album. When everything is wrong, I remember it's not up to you. Thank you.

    3 Oct 2014 Reply
  • kamiekaymee


    8 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Nimbie

    definitely her best

    4 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Frank_War

    13 years <3

    27 Aug 2014 Reply
  • betorfs


    4 Aug 2014 Reply
  • jpzitoleopold

    fantastic album

    1 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Atomic-Chapel

    Sometimes I cry listening to this album especially with Pagan Poetry, Sun in my Mouth & Cocoon, seriously. [2]

    9 Jul 2014 Reply
  • TomasJohn

    my favorite Bjork album

    19 Jun 2014 Reply
  • Azzyk

    First album I've heard from her and she's with me since. I remember I was playing it on repeat so many times ... Her best for sure.

    28 Apr 2014 Reply
  • mhmtakff

    magnum opus [2]

    23 Apr 2014 Reply
  • spilberg721

    maybe that is the best album i've ever heard.

    27 Mar 2014 Reply
  • NiniusNunius

    The best

    26 Mar 2014 Reply
  • RussellChap

    Like sharing a bed with Björk on a chilly day.

    28 Feb 2014 Reply
  • Actually_GIOS

    Sometimes I cry listening to this album especially with Pagan Poetry, Sun in my Mouth & Cocoon, seriously.

    16 Feb 2014 Reply
  • lanoctem

    this album changed my opinion on bjork and i am now a fan. goddamn this album rules

    28 Jan 2014 Reply
  • mhmtakff

    Harm of Will is soundtrack of my life.

    8 Jan 2014 Reply
  • rOOm-on-fire

    Une soirée d'amour pur.

    7 Jan 2014 Reply
  • Red_Pain

    It's her most special album. All the songs are inseparable, they constitute one whole thing that's called Vespertine.

    4 Jan 2014 Reply
  • NyBlueberry

    I don't know why, but this album is always really difficult for me to listen to. I really don't know how to describe it, every second of every song on this album is just so emotional, I can't make much out of it. Perhaps it has something to do with the lush, slightly ambient production mixed with Björk's "rough" voice. Magical

    12 Dec 2013 Reply
  • All 441 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners