Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Maximum Joy


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Bristol, England’s Maximum Joy was formed in 1979 by Janine Rainforth and Tony Wrafter founder members and joined by John Waddington, Charlie Llewellin and Dan Catsis. Blending punk, funk,soul, reggae and jazz they melded their own unique post-punk sound. Maximum Joy signed to the Rough Trade distributed Y Records and their first single, ‘Stretch’ (see Silence Is A Rhythm Too) came out in 1981. In the U.S. the record was distributed by the legendary 99 Records and became and underground NYC club classic. They released a further 2 singles in quick succession - In the Air & White and Green Place. Their LP, ‘Station MXJY’ was released in 1982 and was produced by Adrian Sherwood. Maximum Joy’s last single was a haunting version of “Why Can’t We Live Together”, it was produced by (and featured backing vocals of) Dennis Bovell, it is a song as relevant today as it was when it was first recorded by Timmy Thomas on 1972.

Recently seeing a revival in interest the band’s re-released work in Europe and Japan.
Crippled Dick Hot Wax released a compilation of Maximum Joy’s 12” singles and assorted tracks in October 2005 - ‘Maximum Joy Unlimited 1979-1983’ (cdhw101).

‘Station MXJY’ (their LP) plus bonus tracks (including previously unreleased last single cover of Timmy Thomas classic ‘Why Can’t We Live Together featuring vocals by Janine Rainforth and Nellee Hooper) released by Beatink in Japan May 2007 BRC-193.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

20,168listeners all time
128,250scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners