Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

El Grupo Nuevo de Omar Rodriguez Lopez


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Bayamón, Puerto Rico (2006 – present)

El Grupo Nuevo de Omar Rodriguez Lopez is a / project from Bayamón, Puerto Rico led by The Mars Volta guitarist Omar A. Rodriguez-Lopez, originally created as a means for Lopez to work with Hella drummer Zach Hill.

The line-up was completed adding bassist Juan Alderete de la Peña of The Mars Volta and former Hella bassist Jonathan Hischke on synth bass. The quartet recorded a trio of albums in 2006, the first of which, Cryptomnesia, was released May 5th, 2009. Rodriguez-Lopez recruted The Mars Volta band-mate and vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala to contribute lyrics and vocals to the album, which weren’t tracked until two years later in 2008, with Bixler-Zavala stating that he needed time to “dwell on the enormity of the recordings” before placing lyrics to them.

The vocals for the last two recordings have not yet been completed.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

35,435listeners all time
480,532scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.