Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Dog Fashion Disco


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Baltimore, United States (1995 – 2007, 2014 – present)

Dog Fashion Disco is an band from Baltimore that was formed in 1995. They are notable for combining many different music styles (70’s psychedelic, jazz, piano recital, circus music and vocals, film-noir, hardcore, ska, among others) they were, however, primarily considered a metal band. They are often referred to as DFD and were originally called Hug the Retard, but changed their name to Dog Fashion Disco before releasing any material, as they felt the name Hug The Retard was too politically incorrect and might cost them fans. Also of note is the fact that they recorded a track with System of a Down frontman, Serj Tankian, called “Mushroom Cult” on the album Anarchists of Good Taste, and often wrongly attributed to System of a Down, even though Serj Tankian was the only member to perform on the track.

Adultery was released in 2006 through Rotten Records, as their 6th studio album (5th, if you don’t include the extremely limited release of Erotic Massage and their live album, The City is Alive Tonight). Baltimore’s Dog Fashion Disco call it “Movie Metal” and have not only outdone themselves, but have created a concept record to fold, spindle, and mutilate all of the aural senses. Adultery delves into the life of an ordinary suburban family man and walks you through his folding to his own dark demons. Lock Quentin Tarantino, Charles Bukowski and Humphrey Bogart in a room with guitars, drums and a few bottles of Absinthe and what you would find closely resembles the genius of Adultery.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

65,981listeners all time
2,160,803scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • bcpeters1

    Sweet Nothings is a fantastic album. From Erotic Massage to Committed to a Bright Future, DFD has been a fantastic band, but since Adultery they've gone from fantastic to phenomenal. There is way too much awesomeness in one band for them to be not recognized for it more than they are.

    25 Aug 6:07pm Reply
  • V1011215

    Sweet Nothings is all what I wanted since 2006. Awesome album, glad they made it.

    2 Aug 8:30pm Reply
  • avantish

    To me, Sweet Nothings really sounds like a mix of all the DFD albums, especially the late 90s sound. Commited to a Bright Future, Adultery & Sweet Nothings are the holy DFD trinity for me. Can't wait to hear the follow up next year.

    2 Aug 5:27pm Reply
  • stickyrawr

    I don't know why you guys were expecting another album like Adultery. As you can see through the years, Todd's new bands are sounding very similar to each other, DFD wouldn't be different. Also, Adultery is a masterpiece, why would they try to sound similar if they can't be better than that?

    2 Aug 7:12am Reply
  • frozen-lake

    I was very excited for the new album and I enjoyed it. I like the fact it was different from the other albums and the more I listen to it, the more I like it. Doctor's Orders and Sweet Nothings are actually my favorite songs of the album. They never fail to amaze me.

    27 Jul 3:07pm Reply
  • ChasingTheGhost

    They're shooting a video for Tastes So Sweet today.

    23 Jul 4:33pm Reply
  • jrgp2040

    New album feels like the same thing as polkadot cadaver and el creepo, with a majority of the lyrics being that scary whisper. i was hoping for another Adultery or Commited To A Bright Future but I suppose this will do

    23 Jul 6:32am Reply
  • DianaLau777

    I am glad they are back!

    22 Jul 5:10am Reply
  • Cihan66

    RIP DFD. [2]

    21 Jul 3:38pm Reply
  • HKProxyOne

    RIP DFD.

    21 Jul 3:37pm Reply
  • Firhcp

    Struck By Lightning is AWESOME

    21 Jul 3:29pm Reply
  • avantish

    Anyone catch the Bill Hicks reference in the begining of End of the Road? Way Cool!

    21 Jul 11:01am Reply
  • Unmakable

    wasn't super thrilled with the album myself, but i'm sure it'll grow on me. now looking forward to the next album they promised

    20 Jul 11:15pm Reply
  • waxtadpole3657

    It's amazing how different it feels from Adultery. I think Adultery is the monument to be compared to, and while I don't think anything is going to top that album, it's just too hard to compare them. They're two different beasts. It's glad to see the boys back in top form after 8 years!

    20 Jul 10:04pm Reply
  • FaceWas


    20 Jul 1:08pm Reply
  • FaceWas

    Positively surprised with how good the new album turned out to be, well worth the IndieGogo pledge. "Tastes so sweet", "Approach and recede", "Struck by lightning" and the title track are my favorites so far; the rest of the package is strong as well, save for "War Party" which sticks out like a sore thumb. It obviously lacks the coherence and flow of "Adultery" (I'm almost tempted to re-order some of the songs in a playlist or smth), yet this is two steps ahead of any Razor to Wrist release as of late.

    20 Jul 1:06pm Reply
  • waxtadpole3657

    Fuckin' Doctor's Orders man! I can't get enough of that song.

    19 Jul 6:26pm Reply
  • ChasingTheGhost

    Obsessed with the album.

    19 Jul 5:22pm Reply
  • knight_88

    New album is amazing!

    19 Jul 4:28pm Reply
  • sixteenvolt420

    I don't know, i love the album cover personally, think it perfectly fits both the dark lyrics and the album title. The album is another great album from the boys, for sure. Can't wait for the vinyl release.

    19 Jul 9:02am Reply
  • All 470 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners