Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Manchester, United Kingdom (1991 – 1999)

Audioweb was a rock/reggae/electronica band from Manchester, UK that formed in 1991 as The Sugar Merchants. The lineup consisted of Martin Merchant, Sean D. McCann, Robin File and Robert Maxfield.

The band had two UK top 40 hits: “Policeman Skank…(The Story Of My Life)” and “Bankrobber”, a cover of a Clash song.

The band broke up in 1999. Sean D. McCann currently lives in New York City and is writing a musical, and Maxfield plays for Ian Brown. Martin ‘Sugar’ Merchant now fronts new band SupaJamma, new release ‘That Was Then, This is Now’ out in May 2010. Stereokill Recordings


Top Albums

Listening Trend

8,418listeners all time
64,465scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • vitor_lol

    stop being so fuckin' perfect british music.

    27 Apr 2012 Reply
  • I0O

    Sugar Sometimes Did A Powerfull Attack.

    20 Nov 2010 Reply
  • RhoomsMoss

    Not me! but I can see why it was done they came through when Britpop was king, the style of the band was indefinable due to it's original flavour. To hear what Sugar is up to now check out SupaJamma

    30 Apr 2010 Reply
  • ll2k1985

    no but seriously who's tagging this with Britpop

    14 Apr 2010 Reply
  • ll2k1985

    shed seven top similar artist hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

    14 Apr 2010 Reply
  • kingtubby89

    I miss you Audioweb.

    22 Mar 2010 Reply
  • mardanov

    we r believe to get out of here

    15 Apr 2009 Reply
  • DangerousDave88

    Love it

    26 Mar 2009 Reply
  • mim11

    where this guys now?.... "...The band split up in 1999. Bassist McCann now plays with Badly Drawn Boy, whilst Maxi has drummed for Ian Brown since 2001. Merchant is presently working on a new musical project with ex-record company owner Simon Collier........" what about "a new musical project"?

    9 Jan 2009 Reply
  • sistem33

    I`m in freefall.............. ouuuuuueeeeeeeeeeeeee

    21 Oct 2008 Reply
  • kraut-x

    brilliant music!

    22 May 2008 Reply
  • nibbish

    Brilliant stuff, especially Firework City.

    31 Jan 2007 Reply

Top Listeners