Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Frozen Autumn


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Turin, Italy (1993 – present)

The Frozen Autumn is an Italian band, formed in Turin, Italy in 1993 by Diego Merletto. At the very beginning this was just Diego’s solo project, but after a few months Claudio Brosio took part of the group as session guitar player.

In 1994 the first demo “Oblivion” was released. The next year they released their first CD “Pale Awakening” for a German label. Several concerts, many contributions to various compilations and reviews in several music magazines helped the band to become known to the dark romantic music lovers.

Diego spent three years on a long musical research work. After that, durin 1997, the Italian label Eibon Records printed the band’s second CD titled “Fragments of Memories”.

In the year 1998 Diego co-founded a side project with Arianna called Static Movement. The musical style of Static Movement is not so different from the Frozen Autumn, but in this case only electronic instruments are used. The result was a more synthetic sound. The partnership proved fruitful for both parties and so Arianna became a permanent fixture in The Frozen Autumn line-up, Static Movement remaining their “concept research project”.

Merletto has been working on his video art since 2003, which has become an integral part of the band’s live shows.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

22,161listeners all time
758,892scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Bloody_Nemesis

    Come to Athens!

    27 Nov 8:08am Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    Gotta say that, Static Movement's version of "There's No Time To Recall" is better

    23 Nov 4:36am Reply
  • Post-romantic

    Непередаваемое эстетическое удовольствие...

    16 Nov 1:39am Reply
  • Alienne93

    Their music is mesmerizing! So catchy...

    6 Nov 11:32pm Reply
  • Dravenclaw

    Come to Switzerland, Please!!!

    4 Nov 5:37pm Reply
  • Arkandast

    Мне одному кажется, что всё-таки немного однотипно ? Раньше вроде не замечал сильно так, но теперь..хм. Начальные альбомы были всё же лучше...хотя и последние сильно не изменились

    27 Oct 6:52pm Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    Diego vocals are to die for

    28 Sep 4:59pm Reply
  • deathb666

    Come to LA California

    28 Aug 12:47am Reply
  • Xymox13

    Não chega a ser um CoX, mas é tão bom quanto.

    10 Aug 3:51pm Reply
  • SoporAeternus-

    Maybe it's weird and silly, but they are better than Clan of Xymox. +1

    13 Jul 1:35am Reply
  • TristBaudelaire

    Maybe it's weird and silly, but they are better than Clan of Xymox.

    5 Jul 1:48am Reply
  • SoporAeternus-

    They're so awesome!

    27 Jun 12:40am Reply
  • BlitzMode

    Wait For Nothing live @ Dark Munich Festival 2014

    2 May 10:36pm Reply
  • Lary_Filth

    cute darkwave band ♥

    10 Apr 3:01am Reply
  • Vagabond94

    I must admit when I hear the beginning of Rallentears it does really sound similar to The Cure's A Strange Day. Anyone agree?

    8 Mar 2:58pm Reply
  • Melinda_M

    Never get bored, they have a magic 'something' in their music.

    20 Jan 4:29pm Reply
  • ScarletNebula

    Come to America!

    19 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Iotar

    I want to see them live in Russia so much!

    15 Dec 2013 Reply
  • reborn__phoenix

    I've been waiting more than 10 years to see you here... Come to Belgrade, please! I beg you.

    2 Dec 2013 Reply
  • limonad_limonad

    Первый альбом хорош для того, чтобы слушать его в маршрутке или поезде, когда ночью едешь домой. Грустный, правда, настрой испортить можно в одночасье.

    19 Oct 2013 Reply
  • All 298 shouts

Top Listeners