Loading player…

The Coup is a group based in Oakland, California. It formed as a three-member group in 1992 with rappers (Raymond) Boots Riley and E-Roc along with DJ Pam the Funkstress. E-Roc left on amicable terms after the group's second album, but appears on the track "Breathing Apparatus" on The Coup's third album, Steal This Album. The group is now a duo.

The Coup, part of the sub-genre of political hip hop, is politically radical and Marxist in… read more

Top Tracks

Top Albums

Similar Artists


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

  • Reading the screenplay Boots wrote while listening to the album of the same name, 'Sorry to Bother You' as the editors of McSweeney's suggested. Good call editors. Great play Boots.
  • Fav. I put them over the Roots.
  • these guys are one of the best... hands down.
  • get down get down get down
  • The new album's digging new sounds, and I find this pretty good.
  • Get that monkey off yer back...
  • I'm not feeling the new album. They've lost their sound, I wish they could bring back the Steal This Album sound. The Coup is now on my "Don't Check for Their New Shit" list.
  • New album is fucking awesome. They're doing different kind of rap, it's not "Gangsta" thing. But hey, it's still fucking awesome.
  • Album stream here: http://www.nme.com/blog/index.php?blog=1&p=12904&title=exclusive_stream_the_coup_sorry_to_bothe&more=1&c=1&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=supergroup
  • fucking swag trill shit

API Calls