Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Germany (1989 – present)

Officially founded in 1989, the Germany based Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows is one of the very few dark groups/projects who have based the trinity of their music, poetry and visual appearance on the explicit emphasis of the highly individual expression of pain, isolation, depression, token suicides and the desperate search for the “sacred reunion”; all acted out by their sole protagonist – the transgender Anna-Varney Cantodea.

Best described as “introverted exhibitionism”, the holistic concept of their ritualistic/Jungian art is not necessarily rooted in the grounds of a commonly accepted sense of aesthetics – which is one of the many aspects that gives their work its serious and most unique character.
Though their music playfully fuses elements of classical, baroque, medieval, and even electronic music, the essence of Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows always remains entirely “goth”.

Despite the fact that to this very day they still refuse to perform live in front of a human audience, Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows have long gathered cult status in underground circles worldwide.
Strongly recommended to be approached only with an open heart and mind, the profound darkness (and occasionally subversive humour) of their multi-layered (yet fragile) art is mainly intended as a spiritual healing-process for the wounded soul.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

73,997listeners all time
4,909,530scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • sopor6

    dead lord FANTOTAL has to be the worst company to ship a package!!! My order was shipped on Monday and has not arrived!! And I paid order 40 dollars for shipping! Where is infrarot when I need them :(

    yesterday evening Reply
  • Omen-Sinistrum

    Mitternacht...Oh, my tender little heart. 'Beautiful' and 'Confessional' are sublime.

    Yesterday 4:36am Reply
  • Xymox13

    Some tracks are really short, and apparently have no letters in german. : /

    Yesterday 11:33pm Reply
  • sopor6

    Alittle disappointed by the lenght of some tracks … But who knows maybe short and sweet! But not many tracks over 6 mins makes me worried now :( Hope its still good!!

    Yesterday 6:51pm Reply
  • sopor6

    If anybody need the duration of the new tracks here they are: mitternacht 2:22; 2. beautiful 8:37; 3. la prima vez 5:32; 4. bang-bang 7:17; 5. the boy has built a catacomb 2:16; 6. carnival of souls 3:08; 7. confessional 5:57; 8. under his light 6:59; 9. you cannot make him love you 2:03; 10. into the night 6:00; 11. if you could only read my mind 6:03; 11. it's just that my sadness 4:00; 12. under his light (2) 1:19; 14. miniature 6:44.

    Yesterday 6:50pm Reply
  • twinshadoww

    oh thank you sopor6,

    17 Sep 11:36pm Reply
  • sopor6

    Don't have yet! But soon! Those tracks I were describing were from a review!

    17 Sep 11:35pm Reply
  • twinshadoww

    ill swear ill buy it

    17 Sep 10:20pm Reply
  • twinshadoww

    please share a link of mitternach,please sopor 6

    17 Sep 10:19pm Reply
  • Omen-Sinistrum

    Actually, I believe there are three cover songs on this album. Bang-Bang, Carnival of Souls by Verne Langdon (the Main title track to the film of the same name) and Into the Night by Angelo Badalamenti

    17 Sep 3:16pm Reply
  • sopor6

    And yes the track Bang-Bang is a remake of the Nancy sinatra Really love to hear how the production is done on this track! :)

    15 Sep 9:30pm Reply
  • sopor6

    Pretty crazy and twisted is "Carnival Of Souls" in which totally crazy circus music in the midst of eh not easy to be consumed by music SOPOR AETERNUS gets prefixed.

    15 Sep 7:41pm Reply
  • sopor6

    You Can not Make Him Love You" is a piece that could fit in a horror thriller perfect. The musical production is totally disturbing. To this end, Anna Varney is here vocally by a rather manic vibrant side it an almost takes your breath away.

    15 Sep 7:40pm Reply
  • sopor6

    Seems I was right … It will be released a week and a half earlier then the street date. I just received My email today that it was shipped today :)

    15 Sep 7:26pm Reply
  • sopor6

    Yes, You are correct. Infrarot was the home base for Sopor …. Not anymore as we know! So, Maybe we will still get that wonderful treatment from are new home base!? Or, not! :)

    10 Sep 10:45pm Reply
  • xkj

    yeah but then the orders were sent through Infrarot right?

    10 Sep 5:50pm Reply
  • sopor6

    For the people that has pre-ordered in the past you know what I'm talking about? As we know for the last few sopor albums has been released a week or 2 earlier then the street date that has been given! So, maybe we will see this one released early also ….

    9 Sep 12:46am Reply
  • Omen-Sinistrum

    The Cornet is a strange one, at-least for a Brass instrument. It'll be interesting to hear - I can't recall if Anna has used a Cornet before? It seems there is no Cor Anglais/English Horn (the Oboe's darker brother) on this album however, which is a shame.

    4 Sep 9:25pm Reply
  • sopor6

    If you are into details as I am .. You will notice the guests on this album! And one of the few instruments listed is the Corne (musique) This should be awesome to how its arranged into the track or tracks! :)

    4 Sep 8:48pm Reply
  • Xymox13

    Por Saturno, ainda faltam 21 dias!!!! Morrendo angustiada à espera do novo álbum!

    2 Sep 5:17pm Reply
  • All 4834 shouts