• Key Albums in the Development of my Taste

    14 juin 2013, 21h52m par fduniho

    In a journal article called Development of my Taste in Music, I am giving a long, meandering autobiographical account of how my taste in music developed. Here I'm going to just highlight the main albums that shaped my tastes, or where I'm not sure what the exact album was, are representative of the direction my taste was taking. To the best of my ability, I will list albums in the order that I first listened to them. For some classical music, I will list a different recording, because the original vinyl is not available on, or I just don't remember what it was. This is a work in progress, and gaps may be filled in as time goes on. It is fairly lengthy, but if you're short on time, you can just look over the album covers.

    This is not my first recording of Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite, but it is the one I later bought on CD. …
  • 2013 Album

    4 jan. 2013, 17h24m par Plakya19

  • Review: Erin Boheme - What Love Is

    8 avr. 2006, 19h33m par dboynton

    Erin Boheme - What Love Is (Concord Jazz)
    Released April 2006

    Ms. Boheme showed up on my personal radar a couple of months ago, when iTunes released the singe, "One Night With Frank," a tribute to Frank Sinatra, as its free single of the week. I filed it away, and remembered her name as one to keep track of.

    This week, my neighbor at Last FM, Claiborne, recommended the song to me - with the challenge to find all the Sinatra Titles in the lyrics. (There are nineteen.)

    So with a Starbucks in one hand, and a mouse in the other - I went back to iTunes this morning, and found the whole album. More than half the cuts are co-written by Ms. Boheme. It's a stellar first outing. Ms. Boheme's "Someone To Love" (Co-written with Blaine Greenberg and mark Portmann) is a great opener for this 11-cut set. Her originals are joined with some standards by Sammy Cahn ("Teach Me Tonight"), Cole Porter ("Let's Do It"), and Peggy Lee ("I Love Being Here With You").
  • Review: Janis Siegel - A Thousand Beautiful Things

    8 avr. 2006, 19h29m par dboynton

    Janis Siegel - A Thousand Beautiful Things (Telarc)
    Released April, 2006

    No offense to Cheryl Bentyne (or Laurel Masse), both fine singers in their own right, but for me, Janis Siegel is the female voice of the Manhattan Transfer.

    Her solo turns (this is the ninth) are mostly experimental things - at least that's what they appear to be.

    For the longest time, I wished that Ms. Siegel would simply record a disc of straight-ahead standards, much like the group's work, and quit trying to do odd stuff.

    And when she did one just like that ("The Tender Trap"), I listened to it, said, "That's very, very nice," and put it aside. On the other hand, I've listened to some of these "experiments" again and again.

    And that's probably what will happen to this one, too. Most are minor pop songs, in a number of styles, but most with a Latin beat.

    It's an eclectic collection.

    The opening "Hidden Place" is a cover of a Bjork tune, of all things. …