Mercury Prize

Gå med Dela

57 medlemmar| 24 hojtningar

Ledare: Xemper
Policy för att gå med: Öppen
Skapad den: 3 sep 2009
The Mercury Prize exists solely to champion music in the UK, mainly through the Album of the Year competition, which celebrates recorded music of all genres by British or Irish artists.

2011 Winner:
PJ HarveyLet England Shake

The Barclaycard Mercury Prize is awarded to the best British or Irish album of the year, as judged by a panel of music industry executives and experts.

The prize is open to all styles of music and was initially established by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI) and the British Association of Record Dealers (BARD) in 1992 as an alternative to the more commercial BRIT Awards. The prize takes its name from a former telecoms sponsor, 'Mercury', and is judged solely on the strength of the recorded material as opposed to record sales or media profile of a particular artist.

2011 Nominees:

A world-wide number one, ‘21’ was released in January 2011 on XL Recordings and is the follow up to ‘19’, Adele’s Mercury shortlisted debut. The majority of the album was produced by Rick Rubin in Malibu and Paul Epworth in London. ‘21’ has gone 10 times platinum in the UK and features the singles ‘Rolling in the Deep’, ‘Someone like You’ and ‘Set Fire to the Rain’.

Anna CalviAnna Calvi
Anna Calvi’s debut album was released in January 2011 on Domino Records. Recorded in France and Worcestershire, it features a guest appearance from Brian Eno. The album was produced by Rob Ellis and Anna Calvi and includes the singles ‘Blackout’ and ‘Desire’.

ElbowBuild a Rocket Boys!
‘Build a Rocket Boys!’, Elbow’s fifth album, was produced by the band’s Craig Potter. The five-piece band are from Bury and their previous album, ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’, won the Mercury Prize in 2008. ‘Build a Rocket Boys!’ includes the singles ‘Neat Little Rows’, ‘Open Arms’ and ‘Lippy Kids’.

Everything EverythingMan Alive
‘Man Alive’, Manchester-based Everything Everything’s debut album, was produced by David Kosten. Formed in 2007, the four-piece band features members from Northumberland, Kent and Guernsey. ‘Man Alive’ was released on Geffen in August 2010 and includes the singles ‘Schoolin’, ‘MY KZ, UR BF’ and ‘Photoshop Handsome’.

GhostpoetPeanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam
Ghostpoet is London-born Obaro Ejimiwe. ‘Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam’, his debut album, was written whilst at university in Coventry and released on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings in February 2011. The album includes the singles ‘Cash and Carry Me Home’ and ‘Survive It’.

Gwilym SimcockGood Days At Schloss Elmau
Gwilym Simcock, from Bangor, Wales, attended Trinity College and the Royal Academy of Music. Gwilym, a renowned jazz pianist, recorded the album at Schloss Elmau, Bavaria. It was released on ACT in January 2011 and co-produced by Siggi Loch.

James BlakeJames Blake
James Blake’s debut album followed a series of well-received EP’s. The album was written and recorded by the 22-year-old Goldsmith’s music graduate at his home in New Cross. Released on Atlas/A&M in February 2011, it includes the singles ‘Limit to Your Love’, ‘The Wilhelm Scream’ and ‘Lindisfarne/Unluck’.

Katy BOn a Mission
‘On a Mission’ is the debut album by 22-year-old Katy B from Peckham. Katy studied music at Goldsmiths and her album, recorded in London, was released in April 2011 on Rinse/Columbia. It features the top five singles ‘Lights On’, featuring Ms Dynamite, and ‘Katy on a Mission’, produced by Benga.

King Creosote & Jon HopkinsDiamond Mine
King Creosote is Kenny Anderson, a well-respected singer/songwriter from Fife and a member of the Fence Collective. Jon Hopkins, an acclaimed musician, composer and producer, has worked with Brian Eno and Coldplay. ‘Diamond Mine’ includes field recordings capturing life in Fife and was released in March 2011 by Domino Records.

MetronomyThe English Riviera
‘English Riviera’, Metronomy’s third album, was released by Because Music in April 2011. It was written and produced by the band’s Joseph Mount, originally from Totnes, Devon. The album, recorded in London and Paris, features the singles ‘She Wants’, ‘The Look’ and ‘The Bay’.

PJ HarveyLet England Shake
‘Let England Shake’ was recorded in a 19th century church in Dorset and features long-time collaborators Flood, John Parish and Mick Harvey. PJ Harvey is a previous winner of the Mercury Prize and this is her eighth album. It was released on Island Records in February 2011 and includes the singles ‘Words that Maketh Murder’ and ‘The Glorious Land’.

Tinie TempahDisc-Overy
‘Disc-Overy’, Tinie Tempah’s debut album, recorded in London and Sweden, was released on Parlophone in October 2010. Tinie, from South East London, is the first UK rap artist to have a million-selling single in the USA, with ‘Written in the Stars’. The number one album also features the Labrinth-produced singles ‘Pass Out’ and ‘Frisky’.

Past Winners (1992-2010)

Senaste bloggar

Se alla

Veckans toppartister

Denna grupp har inga listor. Grupplistor beräknas varje vecka för grupper med mer än 2 medlemmar.

Förbundna artister


Lämna en kommentar. Logga in på eller registrera dig.
  • JustinYoeh

    It's a pity that BLBL cannot be on this year's shortlist.

    14 sep 2012 Svara
  • fastlane01

    Lol at my prediction in July. Pleased for Polly that she won, was a very fitting record in the line of things happening in urban England.

    14 sep 2011 Svara
  • cccirilo

    Where is Wild Beasts??? ¬¬

    21 jul 2011 Svara
  • Crazytowel

    Really great selection this year. Don't think Adele has a chance really, and Katy B and Tinie Tempah shouldn't get their hopes up either. I love the Elbow record, but doubt it will be them. Would really love to see Anna Calvi, James Blake or Everything Everything winning this year, but have a strong feeling that PJ is going to walk it.

    20 jul 2011 Svara
  • fastlane01

    Can't see PJ and Elbow winning, as they already have done, would like to see Anna Calvi winning, but it'll probably be James Blake

    20 jul 2011 Svara
  • Peleiades

    gogo PJ!

    20 jul 2011 Svara
  • Juddu

    It has to be Diamond Mine, James Blake or Let England Shake. But honestly, I don't have problems with anyone winning the awards this year!

    19 jul 2011 Svara
  • DylanRyan


    19 jul 2011 Svara
  • LolitaDecay


    10 sep 2010 Svara
  • mozzmozz

    Well done, the xx. It is a great album.

    7 sep 2010 Svara
  • ArendOo

    Foals or Wild Beasts should definitely win. But I'm gueassing it wil be Mumford & Sons, or the xx.

    7 sep 2010 Svara
  • LCDBill

    I lost a certain amount of respect for the prize given speech debelle's poor attitude. Foals should win, it feels like the only album with actual exploration on it.

    5 sep 2010 Svara
  • cocoTASTICtm

    foals, xx, mumford and sons and biffy to win

    13 aug 2010 Svara
  • Stu_B

    I think the nominations are quite mainstream and unchallenging this year! Four Tet deserved to be on the shortlist...

    23 jul 2010 Svara
  • gothicboy279

    My favorites are:The XX,Laura Marling and Biffy Clyro. And Bat for lashes is better than Speech Debelle!!!

    22 jul 2010 Svara
  • poppemeister

    Foals !!

    21 jul 2010 Svara
  • RounderII

    Of course my vote will be going to Corinne.

    20 jul 2010 Svara
  • LightsOfBohemia

    Bat for Lashes should have won last year.

    20 jul 2010 Svara
  • Juddu

    My favourite winners have been Portishead and Primal Scream. I'm hoping that The xx or Laura Marling would win this year!

    20 jul 2010 Svara
  • hardwareltd

    Strange These New Puritans are not among nominees.

    20 jul 2010 Svara
  • Alla 24 hojtningar