New Album by George Demure - The Drifter - Out Now!


Jun 8 2010, 13h44

1. The Vampire Waltz
2. Liza
3. Cold Blooded Old Times
4. I Don't Wanna Know
5. The Drifter
6. Dress Me Up
7. Tin Pan Alley
8. How To Land
9. Do You Feel Like Swimming
10. Parasol Drive
11. The Sleepy Wheel


George Demure spent 10 years at the forefront of Scotland's electronic music scene as George T, The Plastic Avenger and Shutterbug, before moving to London in 2002. This move prompted a rediscovery of his love for guitars as well as discovering his sensational yet elegant singing voice. Equally adept behind a bank of drum machines as he is with acoustic guitars and tambourines, George's songs demonstrate an obsessive love of music, from Charlie Feathers to Lee Perry, Throbbing Gristle to Otis Redding - and his ability to weave a particular lyrical slant in his music owes much to his love of literature.

Since his live debut supporting Colder at London’s Bush Hall in 2005, he attracts growing numbers of devotees with his live performances. A host of gigs include (2005 and 2008’s The Guardian Lounge), performances throughout London, Manchester, Glasgow and Edinburgh, the party at the ICA in 2006, (Camden Palace), a show stopping performance at Output's 2006 Sonar Party in Barcelona, not forgetting Batofar and Le Baron in Paris earlier this year.

George Demure was first featured on Output Recordings' Channel 4 Compilation with the classic New Confrontation. A single, The Main Attraction was released in September 2006, one of the last ever releases on Output. Then, with Tirk, he released the New Confrontation EP, a critically acclaimed 5 tracker in December 2006. His debut LP Boomtown Medallion was released in October 2007 to great applause, which has won him many admirers. With three tracks produced with Maps producer Aidan Love and two produced with The Strokes producer Gordon Raphael, the seeds of collaboration had firmly taken root.

In 2010, George returns with his new album The Drifter. A fine collection of new songs plus a handful of covers (including Smog's Cold Blooded Old Times, the classic // "The Drifter", and the Stranglers' Golden Brown).

The Drifter will be released on Mahuta Recordings in May 2010, preceded by the single Liza (b/w Golden Brown).

Visit the Mahuta Recordings web page for more details.


Deixe um comentário. Faça login na ou cadastre-se agora (é gratuito).