The Garden

Atlantic Records UK
Release date
22 May 2006
Running length
14 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Futures 3:50 129,383
2 Throw It All Away 5:19 154,386
3 Seeing Things 5:08 131,666
4 The Pageant of the Bizarre 4:20 125,062
5 You're My Flame 3:15 123,805
6 Left Behind 1:15 111,534
7 Today 4:02 115,280
8 This Fine Social Scene 4:26 110,981
9 Your Place 6:01 151,115
10 If I Can't Have You 3:22 97,198
11 Crosses 6:37 101,400
12 Waiting to Die 3:38 121,275
13 Dreaming 3:23 19,029
14 Inaminute 4:57 3,687

About this album

The Garden is Zero 7’s third studio album. It was released in the United Kingdom on May 22, 2006, and in the United States on June 6, 2006.

The track “Futures”, featuring vocals by José González, was released on March 13, 2006 as a single and as a digital download. An extended version of the instrumental track “Seeing Things” and “Dreaming”, with Sia Furler on vocals, were included as B-sides.

“Throw It All Away” was the second single, released on May 15, 2006. “Thistles” (with Furler on vocals) and “Inaminute” (instrumental) were included as B-sides.

The Garden is produced by Sam Hardaker and Henry Binns and mixed by Phill Brown. It features vocal performances by José González (on tracks “Futures”, “Left Behind”, “Today” and “Crosses”), Sia Furler (on “Throw It All Away”, “The Pageant of the Bizarre”, “You’re My Flame”, “This Fine Social Scene” and “If I Can’t Have You”, and “Waiting to Die”) and Henry Binns. It sees Zero 7 take a new, more upbeat musical direction, while still maintaining their original sound.

Other releases

Listening Trend

282,364listeners all time
6,206,236scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • debux

    Hated this album at the firsts listens. Came back later, and currently I've heard it more than the two earlier albums. It's a pretty unique masterpiece, and a really nice combination of laidback tunes and upbeat.

    20 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Excrono

    I loved this album pretty much from the first listen, just about every track is quality. However, I don't understand the negativity toward it either; it seems like a lot of people would prefer they keep the same kind of sound and not do anything different...

    22 Oct 2012 Reply
  • garynotrashcoug

    I love the lounge sound of this album.

    4 Oct 2012 Reply
  • Armed_Response

    This was the album that got me into them and, while I love all of their stuff, this is still my personal favorite.

    9 Sep 2012 Reply

    ...No Hay Palabras...No Hay (There are NO WORDS 2 describe Zero 7 sounds)...a true compliment...indeed

    27 Jun 2011 Reply
  • v13579

    it's the only album I own of theirs. never heard of them or anything else they've made before it. it instantaneously became one of my favorite albums and is definitely in my top 5 of all time.

    14 Dec 2010 Reply
  • oMANOo

    I completely agree with the statement below

    9 Jul 2010 Reply
  • kida08

    Compared to Yeah Ghost this album is untouchable. It evolved their sound without going hard pop on some songs like the followup.

    24 Apr 2010 Reply
  • Ldannyweb

    Throw it all away!!

    21 Mar 2010 Reply
  • phogasmic

    I'm not sure what took me so long to pick this up, but I am glad i did, its awesome. The style is very different then Simple Things and When It Falls which is disappointing at first but once you get over that feeling and listen to it for its own merits it is outstanding.

    6 Mar 2010 Reply
  • geek_revolution

    my personal fall/winter album

    31 Oct 2009 Reply
  • niespodziewanka

    this suck, it's their worst. previous albums were fantastic, hope the new will be that great too.

    12 Sep 2009 Reply
  • jules3207

    I completely agree with kenalien. I always loved Simple Things and When It Falls, but never really gave In The Garden a chance because I listened to bits and pieces of tracks and decided that they sounded nothing like the first two, and that therefore I wouldn't like the album. So not true! If you're really to give it the opportunity it deserves, listen to the entire album, start to finish. To me, there's no other way to fully appreciate the artisanship displayed in it.

    28 Aug 2009 Reply
  • kenalien

    I never gave this album a chance when I got it in 2006. Listened to bits of tracks and decided not to bother. I'm part way through now and wish I wasn't so silly back then. Though I reckon it still won't be as impressive to me as the Simple Things.

    29 Apr 2009 Reply
  • elpeevee

    Well i like more the older albums, coz i don't like Sias way to sing in this album, but jose gonzales was greate and few other good song is in this new album... but i hope their next album is more like the older ones.

    20 Apr 2009 Reply
  • kriziz316

    Love the album, I've been listening to the album all week.. 'Your place', 'You're my flame' are my favorite tracks. Brilliant vocals (SIA!) and the sound engineering is amazing. Reminds me of Pink Floyd, in a 21st century fashion :-)

    20 Oct 2008 Reply
  • lagaloupette

    merci encore last fm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    19 Apr 2008 Reply
  • lagaloupette

    un album que j'ai pas acheté parce qu'il était à 22 euros! les maisons de disques sont peuplées de trous du cul, qui tuent les rencontres entre nous et les talents comme zero7...

    19 Apr 2008 Reply
  • bastaard

    Not quite Simple Things or When It Falls, but it has some pretty nice songs imho, Waiting to die and This fine social scene being my favorites.

    20 Feb 2008 Reply
  • brunettediva

    p.s - i really like Your'e My Flame, Throw It All Away, and Futures :)

    25 Jan 2008 Reply
  • All 36 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners