Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Zap Pow


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Formed in 1970 by David Madden (trumpet), Dwight Pinkney (guitar), and Mike Williams (bass). Grew with the additions of Glen DaCosta (tenor sax), Joe McCormack (trombone), Danny McFarlane (organ), and Max Edwards (drums). Edwards departed the band in 1977 and was replaced by drummer Cornell Marshall. Singers Winston “King” Cole, Prilly Hamilton, and Beres Hammond all fronted the band at one time or another, but Zap Pow was at heart primarily an instrumental configuration, and while its live shows were legendary, it was a crack studio session band. Zap Pow had a minor hit on Hammond’s watch with “The System ” in 1978 and a massive one with “This Is Reggae Music” for producer Harry J. Combined with trombonist Vin Gordon, Madden and DaCosta were frequently billed as the Zap Pow Horns, and worked with Bob Marley in that capacity for a time. The Rhino compilation called Reggae Rules, which collects singles the band released between 1973 and 1980, is a good starting point to get a sense of this exciting group, which mined a synthesis of reggae, jazz, funk, and soul well before such a concept became fully accepted. Later featured in the epic reggae mix album Blunted in the Bomb Shelter mixed by Madlib.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

20,802listeners all time
82,525scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners