Release date
25 Jul 2001
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Roundabout 8:30 231,076
2 Cans and Brahms 1:42 49,904
3 We Have Heaven 1:39 71,588
4 South Side of the Sky 9:32 86,547
5 Five Per Cent for Nothing 0:37 56,177
6 Long Distance Runaround 3:46 117,577
7 The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus) 2:39 66,959
8 Mood for a Day 3:02 134,097
9 Heart of the Sunrise 11:14 119,457
10 America 10:28 40,006
11 Roundabout (early rough mix) 8:34 7,431

About this album

Fragile is the fourth album by British band Yes, After “Yes”, “Time and a Word” and “The Yes Album”. It is best known for the song “Roundabout”, which was released in an edited version as a U.S. single and became one of the band’s best-known songs. This was Rick Wakeman’s first album with Yes and also their first trans-atlantic Top 10 release.

Fragile was issued in the UK in November 1971, but was held back in North America for two months because of the still-growing momentum of The Yes Album.

Unlike Yes’ previous releases, this album showcased the band members’ solo talents. “Cans and Brahms” is a piece by Johannes Brahms, consisting of extracts from the third movement of Brahms’ 4th Symphony in E minor, arranged by Rick Wakeman; “We Have Heaven” is a Jon Anderson solo in which he sings all the vocal parts (a technique he later used on his solo album Olias of Sunhillow); while “Five Per Cent for Nothing”, “The Fish” and “Mood for a Day” are solo pieces by Bill Bruford, Chris Squire and Steve Howe, respectively. The remaining songs are all group performances.

Work on the material began while Tony Kaye was still in the band. In a 2006 interview, he said, “I did rehearse Fragile before I left. I left in the middle.” Kaye left the band and Wakeman was recruited.

Other releases

Listening Trend

294,032listeners all time
2,825,873scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Doppz

    this along with yes album and close to the edge are awesome. most prog bands were fairly bloated but Yes kept it together really well.

    25 Apr 12:12am Reply
  • VerbalAbuser

    Great album but i really hate the cartoony disney-feeling interludes like we have heaven .

    21 Nov 2014 Reply
  • vain-o

    I love this album! Best with The Yes Album.

    23 Oct 2014 Reply
  • OcellatedGod

    Excellent album and their second best after close to the edge. [2]

    18 Jun 2014 Reply
  • dr_bun

    a perfect piece of music 10/10

    14 Jun 2014 Reply
  • mordwyr

    Excellent classic prog rock

    24 May 2014 Reply
  • MisterJunior

    The Yes Album -> Fragile -> Close to the Edge -> Tales from Topographic Oceans -> Relayer -> Going for the One... Amazing winning streak for this band. I think this one and Going for the One are my favorites, but all the ones I listed are great.

    15 May 2014 Reply
  • theironictea

    Pretty damn good.

    24 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Wondermoose

    Amazing album.....

    17 Nov 2013 Reply
  • osmark

    excellent album and their second best after close to the edge.

    28 May 2013 Reply
  • JaredMackie

    I think the albums either side of this one are better than it.

    10 May 2013 Reply
  • mk741

    40 years old and doesn't sound dated in the slightest. Makes you wonder why it's called Fragile lol.

    17 Sep 2012 Reply
  • iron345

    This and Close the the Edge 2 of best prog albums of all time.

    11 Aug 2012 Reply
  • kissesneverdie

    MASTERPIECE! Just a great album from start to finish. Every track is just killer.

    28 Apr 2012 Reply
  • miamiscot

    Probably my all-time favorite album.

    31 Mar 2012 Reply
  • kato1984

    one of my favorite albums of all time, it's a fuckin masterpiece [3]

    6 Mar 2012 Reply
  • sebadagostino

    Amazing album!

    27 Feb 2012 Reply
  • Metality

    Five Per Cent for Nothing is mathcore from 70s =) [2] Thought exactly the same.

    26 Feb 2012 Reply
  • CandyStore-Rock

    one of my favorite albums of all time, it's a fuckin masterpiece [2]

    21 Feb 2012 Reply
  • greyorgold

    the greatest. heart of the sunrise is so fucking beautiful.

    9 Feb 2012 Reply
  • All 95 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners