Oranges & Lemons

Release date
3 Mar 2003
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Garden Of Earthly Delights (2001 Digital Remaster) 5:03 145
2 Mayor Of Simpleton (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:58 427
3 King For A Day (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:37 306
4 Here Comes President Kill Again (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:35 101
5 The Loving (2001 Digital Remaster) 4:11 115
6 Poor Skeleton Steps Out (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:33 114
7 One Of The Millions (2001 Digital Remaster) 4:36 105
8 Scarecrow People (2001 Digital Remaster) 4:13 94
9 Merely A Man (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:27 78
10 Cynical Days (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:17 74
11 Across This Antheap (2001 Digital Remaster) 4:51 79
12 Hold Me My Daddy (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:47 70
13 Pink Thing (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:48 78
14 Miniature Sun (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:57 62
15 Chalkhills And Children (2001 Digital Remaster) 4:57 99

About this album

Oranges & Lemons is the tenth studio album by the English band XTC, released in 1989.
The name of the album may have been taken from the lyrics to Skylarking’s “Ballet for a Rainy Day,” which in turn may have come from the old English nursery rhyme:
Orange and lemon
Raincoats roll and tumble
Together, just like fruit tipped from a tray

The band was sent to Los Angeles to record the album, and Paul Fox was retained to produce it. The album was lushly produced with multiple overdubs on almost every track, yielding the psychedelic feel.

The album produced a minor hit, “The Mayor of Simpleton”, the only XTC song ever to hit the US Hot 100 charts. The album was a commercial success, reaching the charts in both the US and Britain. “The Mayor of Simpleton” video, which resembled the opening credits of a The Avengers-type TV show, also saw significant airplay on MTV, especially on the alternative music show “120 Minutes.”

The album produced three hit singles: “The Mayor of Simpleton” - reaching No. 1 on the US Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart, No. 72 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and No. 46 on the UK singles chart. “King for a Day” which reached No. 10 on the US alternative / modern rock charts and “The Loving” which was released in August 1989 in the UK. The album reached No. 1 on the US college / alternative album chart, No. 44 on the US Billboard Top 100 chart and No. 28 on the UK album chart.

Other releases

Listening Trend

37,154listeners all time
446,730scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • webbynator

    A masterpiece

    31 Dec 2014 Reply
  • TriptheLight


    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • mdt

    Yeah, I eagerly bought this album when it first came out, listened to it a lot back then, but hardly ever choose to listen to it now (unlike most other XTC albums). There are some great songs on here, but I can’t shake the feeling that the album would have been much better if it had been recorded in a different city with a different producer.

    21 Dec 2013 Reply
  • TylerSymes

    Sounds like The Dukes Of Stratosphear meets The Kinks. Do you seriously think this would have topped Skylarking though?

    15 Nov 2013 Reply
  • PartySanCTG

    Yes, but the unfortunate part is that Paul Fox's production is a bit of a step down from John Leckie's, since this album can sound quite tinny and eighties digital-shrill at times (unlike Fireball, which doesn't let up from its accurate pastiching), and for me the songs aren't nearly as indelible as Skylarking + Fireball, so the album's somewhat bumpier a ride but it's still very good.

    23 Apr 2012 Reply
  • bobgreen623

    .....which was in itself a compilation of the mini-album '25 O'Clock' and the full-length album 'Psonic Psunspot'. However you listen to the Dukes they are marvellous, and the psychedelic influences so lovingly pastiched by them became more evident on subsequent XTC albums, not least this one which has some great tunes on it.

    24 Aug 2011 Reply
  • lisztophobia

    "Fireball?" Chips From The Chocolate Fireball. the 60s-style psychedelic pop album that XTC recorded under the pseudonym Dukes Of Stratosphear.

    26 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Gibbey


    2 Dec 2010 Reply
  • PartySanCTG

    A slight comedown from Skylarking + Fireball, but still good.

    23 Jul 2010 Reply
  • mydesperateicon

    what's not to love about this album? BRILLIANT!

    17 Feb 2010 Reply
  • OlavOrganist

    Love at first listen. So catchy, yet never stupid.

    10 Dec 2009 Reply
  • 6pg9


    21 Sep 2008 Reply
  • bjornmyrland

    Across this Antheap really turns me on! Really high energy XTC, listen at high volume and it is unbeatable! Poor Skeleton and Scarecrow People are great too, and a couple of others -- but I never really managed to listen to the whole album in one stretch...

    18 Jul 2008 Reply

Top Listeners