Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Widespread Panic


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Athens, Georgia, United States (1986 – present)

Widespread Panic is a band which formed in Athens, Georgia, United States in 1986. The band currently consists of John Bell (vocals, guitar), Jimmy Herirng (guitar), Dave Schools (bass), John “JoJo” Hermann (keyboards), Domingo “Sunny” Ortiz (percussion) and Todd Nance (drums). The band has previously included Michael Houser (guitar) and George McConnell (guitar) and have released 11 albums.

Michael Houser and John Bell (‘JB’) met at the University of Georgia at Athens between 1982 and 1984, and began playing music together around town as a duet. JB played solo shows as well. In the Fall of 1984, David Schools saw JB play a solo show at Abbots in Athens. Dave and JB were introduced by a mutual friend. Shortly thereafter, JB & Mike recruited Dave to play bass with them, and from Mike’s nickname (“Panic”), the band name Widespread Panic was chosen. On February 24, 1985 the band played their first performance as Widespread Panic at the A-Frame house on Weymanda Court in Athens. Mike, JB, & Dave performed around Athens as a trio, occasionally utilizing local drummers. While their shows consisted primarily of cover tunes (by the likes of The Grateful Dead, Van Morrison, Bob Marley, and Traffic, among others), their repertoire did include a handful of original songs: Sleepy Monkey (the band’s first original composition), Chilly Water, Space Wrangler, and Coconut (written by JB before joining the band).


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

167,080listeners all time
2,323,931scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.