Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Weird Little Boy


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Weird Little Boy easily among John Zorn’s most ambitious recent projects, this, the group’s eponymously-titled debut , released though Zorn’s own Tokyo-based Avant label. WLB are: guitarist Chris Cochrane, Faith No More singer Mike Patton (who doubles here on drums), guitarist, keyboardist and drummer Trey Spruance and percussionist William Winant. Zorn himself plays alto and samplers. The group improvise soundscapes to accompany Dennis Cooper and Casey McKinney’s deviant little stories which are reproduced alongside Nayland Blake’s illustrations in the 46 page which comes with this lavish package (itself designed by longtime Zorn-associate - as designer and musician - Ikue Mori). The music is appropriately schizoid, with arcs of piercing electronics and stabbing percussion slashing their way through bursts of warped surf guitar, recalling at once Naked City’s genre-busting tendencies and Zorn’s more nightmarish take on ambient (Leng T’Che, Absinthe, elements of Kristallnacht).

Top Albums

Listening Trend

1,213listeners all time
11,423scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • JamesHippieKid

    I think it would be worth buying it if you can get it for cheap. The story book has some really weird and interesting stories and art. The album does grow old quick, I haven't listened to it in a year. It is very disappointing, I mean Zorn, Patton and Spruance should have been amazing, but it was recorded in one day, but.. yeah, It's worth a listen or two.

    14 Apr 9:14pm Reply
  • Spamivore

    It is indeed a poor, pointless album for the most part, but a few of the tracks make nice ambient background noise (the first track, "When Blood Fills A Cylinder", "Blindness"). It's not worth actually buying, though. I don't like to recommend piracy, but I can make an exception for this thrown together turd. Fun fact: Before I knew how crappy the album was, I actually saw a used copy of it at The Record Exchange here in Boise, Idaho for a pretty cheap price, and was tempted to buy it. Thankfully when I came to the store the next day with cash to purchase it, some other poor sucker got it. Then I learned through online sampling and Trey Spruance's word that it sucked.

    2 Aug 2013 Reply
  • avantish

    Come on now people! Trey Spruance is right on the money about this... It is "artistic" wankery and not much more. And considering the prize of the damn thing and the amazing people involved, this is quite embarrising actually... I guess you all score great points on the hipster scale for admitting to like this.

    28 Jan 2013 Reply


    20 Apr 2012 Reply
  • JamesHippieKid

    "only 500 limited cds" WHAT!?! I got it for 5 bucks!!

    19 Mar 2012 Reply
  • Tarkus10

    Zorn, Patton and Spruance. Incredible.

    28 Jan 2012 Reply
  • qishmish

    it s just.. beautiful? hah)

    28 Jul 2009 Reply
  • qishmish

    i dont want to choose what is more abstract, but i like this release very much aaa only 500 limited cds aaaaa hope i ll get it

    28 Jul 2009 Reply
  • DChamber

    Don't forget that the great Trey Spruance was on this too! And most vocals were handled by him, too.

    12 Mar 2009 Reply
  • CaptureTheCat

    :D this album

    7 Mar 2009 Reply
  • qishmish

    awesome ... Zorn & Patton sick ever..

    11 Oct 2008 Reply
  • elgranmojon


    2 Jan 2008 Reply
  • essencedeathvox


    12 Jun 2007 Reply

Top Listeners