Universal/Island Def Jam
Release date
5 Oct 2004
Running length
14 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Opening 1:50 13,348
2 Devil Inside 3:56 19,731
3 Exodus '04 4:31 12,237
4 The Workout 3:59 12,511
5 Easy Breezy 4:02 16,795
6 Tippy Toe 4:13 11,170
7 Hotel Lobby 4:29 12,562
8 Animato 4:31 12,448
9 Crossover Interlude 1:16 11,568
10 Kremlin Dusk 5:11 14,734
11 You Make Me Want To Be A Man 4:36 13,630
12 Wonder 'Bout 3:46 8,172
13 Let Me Give You My Love 3:34 12,350
14 About Me 4:01 12,101

About this album

Exodus (エキソドス Ekisodosu?) is the debut English language by Japanese singer-songwriter Utada. The album was released on September 8, 2004 by Island Records in Japan, and worldwide on October 5, 2004. The album was re-released by Mercury Records in the UK over a year later on September 25, 2005. This is Utada’s debut English language studio album (not including Precious). Exodus received generally favorable reviews from music critics, who felt that her music was very mainstream for the public, although some did feel it was “repetitive”. Exodus was re-released on September 20, 2006 in Japan, under Universal International, parent company of Island Def Jam. This limited reissue retailed at ¥1470. The album sold a total of 1.5 million copies worldwide.

“Easy Breezy”, “Devil Inside” and “Exodus ‘04” were the three singles released in America, whilst the UK re-release had a single release also; “You Make Me Want to Be a Man”. All singles were released in the United States, although “Easy Breezy” didn’t manage to chart in the US. “Devil Inside” was considered Utada’s best single in the states at that time, as it peaked at number one on the Hot Dance Club Play, becoming one of Utada’s first number one on the charts. “Exodus” managed to peak at number twenty-four on the Hot Dance Club Play.

Other releases

Listening Trend

50,124listeners all time
878,793scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.
  • snowo

    pop perfection

    17 May 6:01am Reply
  • elt220

    This was my introduction to Utada when it first came out! I still love how unique this album is compared to the rest of her work!

    24 Dec 2012 Reply
  • justiceblob

    I cannot deal with the people claiming the production on this sucks. It's the second best part after Hikki's voice! It still sounds so fresh even after 8 years. Exodus is so ahead of the curve it's untrue.

    2 Dec 2012 Reply
  • viic384

    It took some time for me to like this album. I don't think it's better than her japanese music but is still much better than TITO.

    1 Aug 2012 Reply

    once you get past the fact that is blows ass, you realize that it's actually quite terrible.

    21 Jun 2012 Reply
  • otavioasimoes

    amazing album. the production is so stellar, I really hope she does something like this again. [4]

    14 Apr 2012 Reply
  • NiniusNunius

    amazing album. the production is so stellar, I really hope she does something like this again. [3]

    24 Mar 2012 Reply
  • niebesu

    I was only 4 songs into this album and I had to stop from how shitty it was

    16 Mar 2012 Reply
  • reckfleck

    amazing album. the production is so stellar, I really hope she does something like this again. [2]

    11 Feb 2012 Reply
  • Bravepower

    This album is such a grower. Deep and unusual lyrics and some major earworm. Yeah, the plastic-y production is pretty bad, but once you move past that you realise the whole album is quite an achievement. And the UTADA UNITED 2006 versions of Kremlin Dusk, YMMWTBAM and Devil Inside are perfection and made me love this album even more.

    9 Feb 2012 Reply
  • maestrosync

    Seriously. Such awful production, especially compared to the perfection that is Ultra Blue—or Deep River, which was even released two years prior. It kind of works for a cute song like Easy Breezy, but it ruins the serious tracks.

    6 Feb 2012 Reply
  • vsmantis

    So weak compared to the Japanese albums, but it does have some good songs. I just wish there was more organic instrumentation, such as live guitars and string arrangements. The synthesized ones sounds very flat and MIDI-ish.

    27 Jan 2012 Reply
  • ohsolucky

    amazing album. the production is so stellar, I really hope she does something like this again.

    18 Sep 2011 Reply
  • NiniusNunius

    @Q306005: You and your wife are just typical Americans then. TITO sucks ass compared to this album.

    13 Sep 2011 Reply
  • tensotensoq

    at first I thought it was kinda weird, but now I love it and I think it's at least 1000 times better than TITO.

    10 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Megawarrior345

    I should punch myself in the face multiple times for not appreciating this album back then. I only really liked Exodus 04 and Devil Inside but the rest is pretty amazing.

    4 Aug 2011 Reply
  • ohsolucky

    Because Exodus has a soul.

    16 Apr 2011 Reply
  • deadgrandma

    v lol, TITO doesn't have that epic last stretch like this album... and btw, THIS sounds Japanese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsWRRhxL838 :-p

    15 Apr 2011 Reply
  • Q306005

    How can you think this is better than TITO? I guess this is more Japanese-sounding than TITO. Because TITO sounds more like American pop... which is the reason why my wife and I like it more.

    8 Dec 2010 Reply
  • SuchsDirAus

    I love Utada Hikaru, she is a great singer and the instrumentals are so beautiful ! I could not live without her music. Hotel Lobby, Final Distance (especially the Remix), First love, Simple and clean, Colours and much more !

    22 Nov 2010 Reply
  • All 85 shouts

Top Listeners